Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #151 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2011, 04:24 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: 44N by 79W
Posts: 360
Default

About 95% sure I'm grabbing a llano setup this week, but how sure that we will have the a8 covered? Will grab a a6 if we do, I'll likely be hydrid crossfiring anyway, unless the 3650 is beefy enough to run Skyrim
Reply With Quote
  #152 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2011, 05:16 PM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
Yeah you really need XP for 01, big diff. Use W7 for wprime next week.
Really? I've always managed better wPrime scores with XP. Am I doing something wrong?
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #153 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2011, 05:37 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: 44N by 79W
Posts: 360
Default

I believe the king for Wprime is actually Vista, the absolute only reason to use Vista. Otherwise my best have always been in an ultra stripped down XP.
Reply With Quote
  #154 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2011, 06:27 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Not sure, W7 is always better for me. Make sure you use version 1.55, that is all hwbot accepts.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead Things View Post
Really? I've always managed better wPrime scores with XP. Am I doing something wrong?
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #155 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2011, 06:29 PM
Slaughter's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 349

My System Specs

Default

Finally hit the most I can get out of the board on air unfortunately. I squeezed her as tight as I could :P

I just picked up a vanilla 580.
Reply With Quote
  #156 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2011, 07:26 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Brought up the GMA HD 3000 score a bit today when I was running some sub zero. Had a pretty bad cold bug and I couldnt adjust vcore above 1.44v without a igp bsod but I did the best I could.

Hardware news, Overclocking Competitions, Reviews
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #157 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2011, 08:14 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: 44N by 79W
Posts: 360
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaughter View Post
Finally hit the most I can get out of the board on air unfortunately. I squeezed her as tight as I could :P

I just picked up a vanilla 580.
Hey nicely done with that 4290, definitely is looking good.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
Brought up the GMA HD 3000 score a bit today when I was running some sub zero. Had a pretty bad cold bug and I couldnt adjust vcore above 1.44v without a igp bsod but I did the best I could.

Hardware news, Overclocking Competitions, Reviews
Wow that is a hell of a nice chip you have there for that speed/volts. Nice one.

Can't wait to see how this one ends up.
Reply With Quote
  #158 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2011, 08:55 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaughter View Post
Finally hit the most I can get out of the board on air unfortunately. I squeezed her as tight as I could :P

I just picked up a vanilla 580.

Nice score Slaughter!
Reply With Quote
  #159 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2011, 09:59 AM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
Not sure, W7 is always better for me. Make sure you use version 1.55, that is all hwbot accepts.
I spent some time experimenting with wPrime last night with an E5645 on both my stripped-down XP image and my stripped-down W7 image. Sure enough, W7 adds a full +0.1 sec to my wp32 score and +2 sec to my wp1024 score. This is an average after going through about 5-6 runs at around 4.7Ghz on each image. So for me at least, W7 isn't even close to XP.
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #160 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2011, 10:04 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I'm having trouble getting over 1750 in Unigine dx9.
Are my CPU and RAM really what's holding me back?
What scores should I be expecting running the gtx275 @ 744/1593/1268?
From what I can see I should be getting a bit more.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista Security 2011 virus removal (aka Xp and Win7 sec 2011) Jeff1961 Off Topic 15 April 28, 2011 08:02 PM
Winnipeg Mayor Kicks Kid headsh0t Off Topic 7 August 25, 2010 06:42 AM
Toronto FC season kicks off tonight! zlojack Off Topic 6 March 22, 2009 08:24 AM
Wednesday Review Roundup for November 19th MAC Reviews & Articles from the Web 1 November 19, 2008 10:09 PM
Review Roundup for Wednesday December 19th SKYMTL Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 December 19, 2007 01:30 PM