Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2011, 04:15 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 29

My System Specs

Default Everything running fine but the upgrade itch getting stronger ;)

Hey guys,

Not sure f this is the right section to put this in but I have just a few questions.

With my current setup everything is quite sweet. No problems, the *very* occasional Overclock fail and CTD or freeze but other than that I am very happy with my setup.

Now, the thing is I'm starting to wonder if there's anything I can do that is reasonably cost effective to make my rig boot up and perform faster than it already is. With the SSDs boot times are much better (not lightning fast by any standards but much better none the less), the my CPU seems to be doing everything it was made to do and more with the OC and my 2 GTX560's are running BF3 all on high with AA turned OFF.

I've got around 200 bucks to blow and I'm wondering if better RAM or a better CPU is what's next. My specs are below, if anyone can help that would be awesome

Thanks

Pablo
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2011, 04:22 PM
Galcobar's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Richmond, B.C.
Posts: 437

My System Specs

Default

Not seeing any specs
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2011, 04:25 PM
Pabz0r545's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,308

My System Specs

Default

It appears to me you don't need any upgrades but if you have 200 to blow why not get an SSD for a boot drive? Maybe some 1600 mhz ram?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2011, 04:28 PM
Jonesy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario
Posts: 180

My System Specs

Default

First and foremost, always look into the free ways to boost system performance. In the link below are some tweaks to speed up Win 7. While a lot of them are well known to people, it is a nice little list to make sure that you have done everything to boost performance, that you want to do.
I had done about some of the tweaks listed in there, but had missed some of the key ones. Defiantly suggest giving it a read through.

Guide * Windows 7 Ultimate Tweaks & Utilities *
__________________
Origin ID = xXFlatlinedXx
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2011, 04:28 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 29

My System Specs

Default

lol I already have 2 Agility 2 64GB SSDs in there. Boot times are pretty quick (not including post)
__________________
i7 930 2.8 stock @ 3.99
Asus P6T
Corsair H70 CPU Watercooler
6 x 2Gb Kingston Value RAM triple channel
ASUS ENGTX560 TI DCII/2DI/1GD5 SLI
2 OCZ Agility 2 64GB SSD in RAID 0
LG Blu Ray Burner
HP 2509 LCD 25"
Coler Master HAF 922
Onboard sound 7.1 Realtek Hi Def Audio
Cooler Master Silent Power 1000W
Win 7 x64
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2011, 04:31 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 29

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonesy View Post
First and foremost, always look into the free ways to boost system performance. In the link below are some tweaks to speed up Win 7. While a lot of them are well known to people, it is a nice little list to make sure that you have done everything to boost performance, that you want to do.
I had done about some of the tweaks listed in there, but had missed some of the key ones. Defiantly suggest giving it a read through.

Guide * Windows 7 Ultimate Tweaks & Utilities *
Will do thanks. Also, what do you think of boosting the memory to 24 gigs?
__________________
i7 930 2.8 stock @ 3.99
Asus P6T
Corsair H70 CPU Watercooler
6 x 2Gb Kingston Value RAM triple channel
ASUS ENGTX560 TI DCII/2DI/1GD5 SLI
2 OCZ Agility 2 64GB SSD in RAID 0
LG Blu Ray Burner
HP 2509 LCD 25"
Coler Master HAF 922
Onboard sound 7.1 Realtek Hi Def Audio
Cooler Master Silent Power 1000W
Win 7 x64
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2011, 04:56 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,258

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akulacan View Post
Will do thanks. Also, what do you think of boosting the memory to 24 gigs?

Total overkill unless you are using some really memory intensive computing. It may make a high overclock unreachable as you are adding stress to the memory controller. If you really want to upgrade ditch the 930 and get a 970. You would have a killer folding machine (you do already)....
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2011, 11:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 29

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the advice guys. Unfortunately I got to this thread too late in the night but either way, the 970 is a bit out of reach budget wise. I opted for 24 gigs memory (2 of these Newegg.ca - Kingston HyperX 12GB (3 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) XMP Desktop Memory Model KHX1600C9D3K3/12GX ) and look forward to seeing how that will work out for me.
__________________
i7 930 2.8 stock @ 3.99
Asus P6T
Corsair H70 CPU Watercooler
6 x 2Gb Kingston Value RAM triple channel
ASUS ENGTX560 TI DCII/2DI/1GD5 SLI
2 OCZ Agility 2 64GB SSD in RAID 0
LG Blu Ray Burner
HP 2509 LCD 25"
Coler Master HAF 922
Onboard sound 7.1 Realtek Hi Def Audio
Cooler Master Silent Power 1000W
Win 7 x64
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2011, 05:34 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,385

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akulacan View Post
Will do thanks. Also, what do you think of boosting the memory to 24 gigs?
Completely useless on windows 7, max memory it will use is 16gb and even then you will be hard pressed to reach it.

Also with no trim support with your HDD's in raid with your SSD's,your SSD's will degrade and slow down over time.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2011, 11:06 PM
bkh2's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 265

My System Specs

Default

24 gigs of ram is completely useless in gaming. You won't see any performance increase from 12gigs to 24 gigs. Ask me how I know.

@JJThomp - I've used all 24 gigs before. What makes you say that Windows can't use more than 16? Please link the source, I could be wrong.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running an HD 4890. Should I upgrade now or wait until next year? Linus LinusTechTips Q&A 11 October 13, 2011 01:49 PM
Got that Upgrade Itch geokilla RAM 15 July 18, 2009 04:50 PM
The Itch to Upgrade BALISTX New Builds 13 July 4, 2008 01:06 PM
I've got the itch...but don't know what to upgrade! Mibs CPU's and Motherboards 8 June 20, 2008 10:43 PM
I'm getting that itch... EVGA step-up is running out zlojack Video Cards 9 February 7, 2008 10:01 AM