Hardware Canucks

Hardware Canucks (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/)
-   Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/overclocking-tweaking-benchmarking/)
-   -   Is this the Overclocking Golden Age? (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/overclocking-tweaking-benchmarking/480-overclocking-golden-age.html)

Babrbarossa March 2, 2007 08:59 AM

Is this the Overclocking Golden Age?

As you know, I'm pretty new to the overclocking game so I'll offer up my somewhat limited perspective, and then you can shoot holes in it all you want:

My question is: Have we reached a new golden age of overclocking? To answer this, we must first decide what a golden age is- this is where the disagreement will lie. Some would say that the golden age is homologous to the dawn of overclocking- back when people were first discovering new ways to cool their computers to achieve higher performance and it was a somewhat exclusive hobby for an elite cohort of true enthusiasts-back before cases came already packed with watercooling gear, and before motherboards were designed for "xtreme overclocking". -the pioneer days when the best overclocking was done out in the shed in january :-). I would imagine that anyone who can actually say that they were a part of this beginning would be happy to nostalgically claim that it was the golden age, and thereby claim exclusive rights to it. I think they would be particularly likely to do so if they don't yet have a C2D and haven't yet had the pleasure of a 60-100% overclcock ;-)