Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2011, 12:41 PM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by keto View Post
No, setting a + or - is optional. I don't know what your voltage will be relative to VID and LLC, you have to play with it/try it out and see. Yes, it's possible to have more vcore than you'd like, but I don't think so from where you are now. Sometimes if you're trying for a real high clock like 4.9 or 5.0+ it can happen. A short test that gave you 1.55 wouldn't hurt your cpu anyways, you have good temp control and temps are MORE important than voltage - that's why they can pump in big volts under dry ice or other advanced cooling when doing 'extreme' overclocking benchmark runs.

Oh, I've never heard of a problem booting up due to vcore being too low.
Awesome! Thanks again keto! I will try this sometimes! For now, I will work on 4.8Ghz+ :)

BTW: So far, so good! 6h Stable at the last settings posted above!
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2011, 01:32 PM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Well, I think I can consider this 4.5Ghz Rock Solid Stable!

http://i242.photobucket.com/albums/f...TABLE_LOAD.jpg
http://i242.photobucket.com/albums/f...TABLE_IDLE.jpg

With those settings (PS: I disabled CPU Spread Spectrum before Stress testing) :

http://i242.photobucket.com/albums/f...e/IMG_1743.jpg
http://i242.photobucket.com/albums/f...e/IMG_1744.jpg
http://i242.photobucket.com/albums/f...e/IMG_1745.jpg
http://i242.photobucket.com/albums/f...e/IMG_1746.jpg
http://i242.photobucket.com/albums/f...e/IMG_1747.jpg
http://i242.photobucket.com/albums/f...e/IMG_1748.jpg

Tonight, I'll shoot for 4.8Ghz with the above settings. I'll just up Vcore and see what gives!
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2011, 07:58 PM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Update!

Well, I've decided to play around with Offset when i got back home from work since my 4.8Ghz with Vcore set at 1.460v had one core crashed after 1h15 in Prime95... Anyway, so yeah I've played with Offset Vcore. I followed your instructions keto and here's the result :

Keeping in mind that the CPU needs 1.360v during load for stability, I first tried setting Offset Vcore and letting it on auto with Ultra High LLC. It came pretty close to being Stable during load. VID is 1.3611v ... So It's pretty close with LLC at Ultra High but then i recall you said that IDLE voltage could cause problem... I didn't wanted to take any chances so i went ahead and set LLC to High instead. I worked my way from there and I ended up needing to add ("+") 0.040v to get 1.360-1.368v when running Prime95 Blend test.

LOAD : http://i242.photobucket.com/albums/f...ffset_LOAD.jpg

IDLE : http://i242.photobucket.com/albums/f...ffset_IDLE.jpg

IDLE voltage seems right since i heard ppls were running their 2500ks IDLE @ below 1.000v ... I personally don't want to take any chances...

Questions now! How come my MID-LOAD voltage is always higher than the FULL-LOAD (Prime95) voltage?

MID-LOAD : http://i242.photobucket.com/albums/f...t_Mid-LOAD.jpg (You actually don't see the CPU being under MID-LOAD (7-8-9%) in Task Manager but it was a sec ago when i took the screenshot and CPU-Z had not updated yet.)

Isn't that a bit strange? CPU is running at 7-8-9% or so and it gives more juice than when it's running at 100%? I'm confused here...

Now, another thing i thought was really strange... At some point, I decided to try to set C1E, C3 and C6 to Enable instead of letting them on Auto and WooooOOW! IDLE voltages were crazy! Swinging from 0.760v to 1.220v ! WTH! First, that means that when I let these 3 settings on Auto, some (which ones??) are not being set to Enable by the Bios unless it sets them to Enable when it needs it?. That is confusing. I heard that Cstates needed to be Enabled when using Offset Vcore. Also heard that they had to NOT be disabled when using SSDs ... Either it boosting overclocking or not. I mean, even if by disabling Cstates I could push my CPU further, I wouldn't since it would reduce my SSD performance. Is that right?

Here are the settings for the 4.5Ghz using Offset Vcore "+" 0.040v :

http://i242.photobucket.com/albums/f...e/IMG_1765.jpg
http://i242.photobucket.com/albums/f...e/IMG_1766.jpg
http://i242.photobucket.com/albums/f...e/IMG_1767.jpg
http://i242.photobucket.com/albums/f...e/IMG_1768.jpg
http://i242.photobucket.com/albums/f...e/IMG_1769.jpg
http://i242.photobucket.com/albums/f...e/IMG_1770.jpg

PS: Yeah I upped DRAM Voltage to 1.525v just in case. 1.50v seemed a bit low and my dimms are rated XMP 9-9-9-24 2T 1600Mhz 1.50v .. Am i just beeing scared here or should I just run my RAM @ 1600Mhz 1.50v ?
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14

Last edited by Patriote; November 7, 2011 at 08:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2011, 08:26 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 265
Default

I don't know anything about 'mid load' or any voltage swings you may be seeing.

I never leave anything auto..my personal policy, I either want it on (enable) or off (disable) if it's something a) I understand and b) know has an impact on my tweaking. So, C states I either enable or disable, I don't leave them on auto. On my Gigabyte board I did have some fair sized voltage swings, I have seen much less of that on my ASUS board.

C3/C6 are the ones most often suggested to disable if you are having trouble getting stability. I don't own an SSD, I have read something about C3/C6 and SSDs, but I glossed over it and don't recall the reading.

Your RAM either works at 1.5v or it doesn't. .025v isn't going to hurt anything.

Sorry, I'm not much help to you this round.
__________________
2600K @4.6 for now, still tweaking.
P8Z68-V Pro Gen3
Patriot Div2 Viper Extreme PC3-15000 4GBx2 (1866 9-11-9-27-2)
EVGA GTX 580 SSC
Caviar Black 1TB x2 RAID0
Corsair Gold 850W
Corsair H80
Corsair 600T Graphite
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2011, 09:15 PM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by keto View Post
I don't know anything about 'mid load' or any voltage swings you may be seeing.

I never leave anything auto..my personal policy, I either want it on (enable) or off (disable) if it's something a) I understand and b) know has an impact on my tweaking. So, C states I either enable or disable, I don't leave them on auto. On my Gigabyte board I did have some fair sized voltage swings, I have seen much less of that on my ASUS board.

C3/C6 are the ones most often suggested to disable if you are having trouble getting stability. I don't own an SSD, I have read something about C3/C6 and SSDs, but I glossed over it and don't recall the reading.

Your RAM either works at 1.5v or it doesn't. .025v isn't going to hurt anything.

Sorry, I'm not much help to you this round.
Thanks keto! Well, Your helping the way you can! That's whats important! And I appreciate it! ;)

Well, I will have to test more about those Cstates. Here's where i read (one from many others) about SSDs being affected when disabling Cstates : Official ASUS P8P67 Series Overclocking Guide and Information

This post was maid by a "supposed ASUS Technical Marketing Rep"
Quote:
In addition continued testing with the PPL option enabled and D2 or retail parts have shown some benefits to CStates being disabled when approaching, at or exceeding a 50x multiplier. An important note to keep in mind is that disabling CStates can considerably affect HD performance ( especially SATA6G ) Please keep this in mind when going for the highest level overclocks.
SATA6G being the ports SSDs and SATA3 HDDs uses.

But with those 3 CStates set to Enable, IDLE voltage was really swinging bad from 0.760v to 1.220v. Can't recall if I even tried LOADing Prime95 after seeing that much of a swing when IDLE. Anyway, like i said, I will have to investigate a bit more on that heh

As for DRAM voltage, well, I ran Memtest86+ (the one that you run before windows boots) for 2 hours (2 Pass) with my RAM beeing set @ 1600Mhz with manual voltage set 1.500v and timing manually set to 9-9-9-24 2T and all went well. No errors. So, I suppose I should set it back to 1.500v for now until I start Ocing the RAM.

Now, something else... Check this out :

I heard that AID64 EX Stability test was a more appropriate\realistic way to Stress test the CPU since the LOAD it applies to the CPU is not the same at what Prime95 would. The temps you get from stressing with Prim95, you will never get them either when playing an intense game such as Crysis 2 or even when folding@home... So I suppose this statement is true. Either it beeing true or not, I still prefer to stress my CPU for stability using Prime95 to make sure IT IS 100% STABLE. Either way, I decided to give it a shot. I presume the LOAD it applys to the CPU would be relatively the same (actually probably more) as the LOAD Crysis 2 would apply to my CPU. Well, Guess what, here's the Vcore i get when stressing with AID64 EX ...

http://i242.photobucket.com/albums/f...AD_AID64EX.jpg

Seeing this, I assume that when I'd be gaming, my Vcore core would be at 1.384-1.392v ... And that isn't really what I am looking for isn't it? I stressed the CPU with AID64 EX and got that Vcore. I then stopped the Stress and started Prime95 ... And my Vcore was at 1.368v ... Like if, depending on the intensity of the stress the CPU would get, the Vcore would go down as the intensity gets higher.

Now this is confusing...! Any ideas?
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old November 7, 2011, 10:28 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 265
Default

My idea is that .016v isn't going to hurt your cpu.

But - is AID64 a multi threaded app? Because, even with P95, if you load it up with ONE THREAD ONLY, you will see higher vcore than if you load up all the cores - try it and see.

P95, 12 to 24 hours, is generally accepted as the defacto standard for stability with SandyBridge. No test is perfect, however, so it is good that you are using other tools to test.

EDITED TO ADD I don't currently F@H, but have read that F@H puts as much heat stress load on cpu as P95 does, in some cases guys are stable P95 and still crashing F@H and having to add vcore - usually just a very small increment.
__________________
2600K @4.6 for now, still tweaking.
P8Z68-V Pro Gen3
Patriot Div2 Viper Extreme PC3-15000 4GBx2 (1866 9-11-9-27-2)
EVGA GTX 580 SSC
Caviar Black 1TB x2 RAID0
Corsair Gold 850W
Corsair H80
Corsair 600T Graphite

Last edited by keto; November 7, 2011 at 10:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old November 8, 2011, 12:31 AM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by keto View Post
My idea is that .016v isn't going to hurt your cpu.

But - is AID64 a multi threaded app? Because, even with P95, if you load it up with ONE THREAD ONLY, you will see higher vcore than if you load up all the cores - try it and see.

P95, 12 to 24 hours, is generally accepted as the defacto standard for stability with SandyBridge. No test is perfect, however, so it is good that you are using other tools to test.

EDITED TO ADD I don't currently F@H, but have read that F@H puts as much heat stress load on cpu as P95 does, in some cases guys are stable P95 and still crashing F@H and having to add vcore - usually just a very small increment.
I see! Will have to check it out! But I'm pretty sure it is multi-threaded. Like one for each cores since I have the latest version of AID64 EX.

One thing i read tonight is that the higher the added Offset Vcore (Mine is 0.040v) the higher the fluctuation between load and semi load. So I tried setting LLC to Extreme and ajusting the Offset Vcore ("-" in this case) which was lower than 0.040v but then IDLE voltage was too low to my likings.. This is starting to get frustrating. I'll probably let it swing between IDLE, MID-LOAD and FULL-LOAD as it is ATM. Like you said, ".016v isn't going to hurt your cpu." ... Heh

I'll shoot for another 4.8Ghz try overnight! Thanks again for the help keto!
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2011, 04:34 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 499
Default

Even for me this is it...

__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.13b1
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9


Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i5 2500k Overclocking Kommie986 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 23 April 9, 2012 09:29 AM
2500k or 2600k kyle_L New Builds 4 August 4, 2011 10:49 AM
2500k RAM AKY RAM 10 July 10, 2011 02:09 PM
Assistance with i5-2500K overclocking Modus Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 May 2, 2011 03:20 PM
2500K + P8P67 Pro Overclocking Realityshift Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 0 January 24, 2011 10:20 AM