Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2011, 01:29 PM
Kommie986's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 601

My System Specs

Default i5 2500k Overclocking

I followed this guide: P67 Sandy Bridge Overclocking Guide For Beginners but when I stress test with Prime95, after a bit, it always says something along the lines of Prem95 having an error and needing to close. I followed his exact instructions for 4GHZ except I pumped voltage up to 1.15
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2011, 01:35 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

Not every chip is the same.. also that guide is using a 2600k, up your vcore to 1.2
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2011, 01:59 PM
Kommie986's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 601

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
Not every chip is the same.. also that guide is using a 2600k, up your vcore to 1.2
Aight thanks!

Edit: Also, what's the highest safe voltage for these Sandy Bridge chips? I really want to hit 4.5 GHz.

Last edited by Kommie986; October 15, 2011 at 02:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2011, 03:40 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,070

My System Specs

Default

You have an Asus board right? Try the auto-oc. It took my 2600k to 4.5Ghz with no problems.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2011, 04:11 PM
Kommie986's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 601

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
You have an Asus board right? Try the auto-oc. It took my 2600k to 4.5Ghz with no problems.
Hm, I'll give that a shot. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2011, 01:45 AM
bradleyg5's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 59
Default

1.52 is the max voltage, you are in my opinion perfectly safe under 1.4 as long as you cool it properly, nothing wrong with running over 1.4 either :P
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2011, 07:33 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 159

My System Specs

Default

NO to auto oc, change voltage to 1.35v for 4.5ghz, ~1.25v for 4.2ghz

Last edited by Ed103194; November 26, 2011 at 07:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2011, 09:50 PM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed103194 View Post
NO to auto oc, change voltage to 1.35v for 4.5ghz, ~1.25v for 4.2ghz
Maybe. Maybe not. Not all chips are the same.

Auto OC will work for the OP's specific hardware, which makes it a decent starting point.
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2011, 10:37 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 265
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dead Things View Post
Maybe. Maybe not. Not all chips are the same.

Auto OC will work for the OP's specific hardware, which makes it a decent starting point.
I forget what it's called, but the auto o/c on the dumbed down first bios screen took me to 4.4 no issues.
__________________
2600K @4.6 for now, still tweaking.
P8Z68-V Pro Gen3
Patriot Div2 Viper Extreme PC3-15000 4GBx2 (1866 9-11-9-27-2)
EVGA GTX 580 SSC
Caviar Black 1TB x2 RAID0
Corsair Gold 850W
Corsair H80
Corsair 600T Graphite
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2011, 10:51 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 159

My System Specs

Default

I know not all chips are the same, but it is the recommended voltage to start off with on the 2500k, I've built a few computers for my friends with 2500k, and got it up to 4.5ghz with 1.35ghz. Of course I would run prime and check if its enough voltage, some chips can run 4.5 at only 1.25ghz, but for most chips 1.35 is the best voltage to start with. The turboevo utility also overclocks baseclock and overvolts, so I would recommend doing it manually, there are plenty of forums online with the speed people are running their 2500k at and the voltage, so you can get an idea the amount of voltage required.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
H50/i5 2500k fan speed Livestrong Water Cooling 5 August 6, 2011 06:20 PM
2500k RAM AKY RAM 10 July 10, 2011 02:09 PM
Assistance with i5-2500K overclocking Modus Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 May 2, 2011 03:20 PM
i5 2500K @ 4.8 GHz oddities SneakySnake Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 March 9, 2011 03:08 PM
2500K + P8P67 Pro Overclocking Realityshift Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 0 January 24, 2011 10:20 AM