Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2011, 07:01 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 694

My System Specs

Default need help with i7 2600k + z68x-ud4

I need help ocing this chip on this board. I also have gskill snimer 9-9-9-25 1600 mhz ddr3 ram 1.5v

I can simply just change the multiplier to 46 and disable auto boost and I can get it stable at 1.36v

However, I cant get it to 4.9 ghz, everytime I can get into windows but right away get a blue screen.

I am wondering what else should I turn off under the advanced cpu core features?


Thanks


PS. ZSAMZ_ I am looking at you!!!!!

Last edited by Your_friendly_gamer; October 1, 2011 at 07:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2011, 07:32 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

i dont know how to overclock a 2600k
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2011, 07:36 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 694

My System Specs

Default

come on, please help me with the settings, you are like the master guru. I know that! pleaseeeeeeeee

Quote:
Originally Posted by zsamz_ View Post
i dont know how to overclock a 2600k
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2011, 07:45 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

what revision is the ram


ennable cpu internal pll overvoltage

many 2600k wont do 4.9;) n need over 1.5v

dissable c1 c3 n energy saving crap
load latest bios
use llc 5 or 7
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2011, 07:53 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 694

My System Specs

Default

Yea i am at work right now, but before coming here today, I did install the latest bios, even tho it was beta. Here are the specs on ram:

CAS Latency9-9-9-24-2NCapacity8GB (4GB x2)SpeedDDR3-1600 (PC3 12800)Test Voltage1.5 VoltsPCB
Registered/UnbufferedUnbufferedError CheckingNon-ECCType240-pin DIMMWarrantyLifetime



My temps at 1.36 are amazing tho. I idle in the 20's and with LinX I stay under 60. It maybe because I may have a sick Megha with two blade master fans in push pull config.


I am gonna try that, I am gonna disable some other stuff. I believe I tried 4.8 at1.4 it did boot up and stuff, it looked very beautiful and then when I ran LinX it froze and then bsod on me.


Thanks Zsamz_ you are always a great help and I alway apperciate your advise!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2011, 09:09 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

i know the specs of the ram

what is rev.#
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2011, 10:33 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 694

My System Specs

Default

I opened my case and took the ram out and couldnt find the rev #, how, or where can I locate it?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2011, 12:13 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Your_friendly_gamer View Post
I opened my case and took the ram out and couldnt find the rev #, how, or where can I locate it?

oops thought your ram was corsair lol

bump the vdim to 1.55v
your ram might even do 1866 if it has hynix chips
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2011, 12:02 AM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 694

My System Specs

Default

Zsamz_ yes sirry you are the MAN, 1.55v for ram did the trick, turned off everything else, and boom at 1.4v check it sir!

CPU-Z Validator 3.1


Thank you so much, I saved this on cmos for benches but everyday use and for folding i am gonna keep it 4.5ghz.

Thank you again.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2011, 12:43 AM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default

Nice OCing on that 2600K.
__________________
ASRock Extreme 3,2500K,NH-D14,Patriot G2 16GB ,WD 750GB,640GB Sata , GTX 680, Thermaltake toughpower XT850W,Tech Station. V243H, LCD
heatware
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3 wont turn off. kyle_L Troubleshooting 15 August 9, 2011 01:45 PM
Intel Core i7-2600K with GIGABYTE Z68X-UD7,the latest High End Platform OC Guide windwithme CPU's and Motherboards 6 July 14, 2011 10:46 AM