Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2011, 06:01 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 651

My System Specs

Default need help with i7 2600k + z68x-ud4

I need help ocing this chip on this board. I also have gskill snimer 9-9-9-25 1600 mhz ddr3 ram 1.5v

I can simply just change the multiplier to 46 and disable auto boost and I can get it stable at 1.36v

However, I cant get it to 4.9 ghz, everytime I can get into windows but right away get a blue screen.

I am wondering what else should I turn off under the advanced cpu core features?


Thanks


PS. ZSAMZ_ I am looking at you!!!!!

Last edited by Your_friendly_gamer; October 1, 2011 at 06:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2011, 06:32 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

i dont know how to overclock a 2600k
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2011, 06:36 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 651

My System Specs

Default

come on, please help me with the settings, you are like the master guru. I know that! pleaseeeeeeeee

Quote:
Originally Posted by zsamz_ View Post
i dont know how to overclock a 2600k
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2011, 06:45 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

what revision is the ram


ennable cpu internal pll overvoltage

many 2600k wont do 4.9;) n need over 1.5v

dissable c1 c3 n energy saving crap
load latest bios
use llc 5 or 7
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2011, 06:53 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 651

My System Specs

Default

Yea i am at work right now, but before coming here today, I did install the latest bios, even tho it was beta. Here are the specs on ram:

CAS Latency9-9-9-24-2NCapacity8GB (4GB x2)SpeedDDR3-1600 (PC3 12800)Test Voltage1.5 VoltsPCB
Registered/UnbufferedUnbufferedError CheckingNon-ECCType240-pin DIMMWarrantyLifetime



My temps at 1.36 are amazing tho. I idle in the 20's and with LinX I stay under 60. It maybe because I may have a sick Megha with two blade master fans in push pull config.


I am gonna try that, I am gonna disable some other stuff. I believe I tried 4.8 at1.4 it did boot up and stuff, it looked very beautiful and then when I ran LinX it froze and then bsod on me.


Thanks Zsamz_ you are always a great help and I alway apperciate your advise!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2011, 08:09 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

i know the specs of the ram

what is rev.#
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2011, 09:33 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 651

My System Specs

Default

I opened my case and took the ram out and couldnt find the rev #, how, or where can I locate it?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2011, 11:13 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Your_friendly_gamer View Post
I opened my case and took the ram out and couldnt find the rev #, how, or where can I locate it?

oops thought your ram was corsair lol

bump the vdim to 1.55v
your ram might even do 1866 if it has hynix chips
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2011, 11:02 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 651

My System Specs

Default

Zsamz_ yes sirry you are the MAN, 1.55v for ram did the trick, turned off everything else, and boom at 1.4v check it sir!

CPU-Z Validator 3.1


Thank you so much, I saved this on cmos for benches but everyday use and for folding i am gonna keep it 4.5ghz.

Thank you again.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2011, 11:43 PM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default

Nice OCing on that 2600K.
__________________
ASRock Extreme 3,2500K,NH-D14,Patriot G2 16GB ,WD 750GB,640GB Sata ,2 GTX 470 SLi Thermaltake toughpower XT850W,Tech Station. V243H,2253LW LCD
heatware
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3 wont turn off. kyle_L Troubleshooting 15 August 9, 2011 12:45 PM
Intel Core i7-2600K with GIGABYTE Z68X-UD7,the latest High End Platform OC Guide windwithme CPU's and Motherboards 6 July 14, 2011 09:46 AM