Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 18, 2008, 03:06 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default Any secret to O/Cing a e6550?

I have a GA-965P-DS3 that I traded out for a GA-P35-DS3R. The original board had a e6300 that did 450*7 that was 24hr prime stable and at least 8hr stable @ 466*7. That chip on the p35 is pretty much the same story but the e6550 refuses to POST at anything above 425MHz no matter what I do which seems very odd to me. Both boards have OCZ Plat. and I've switched them to make sure that's not it. Both are using stock coolers BTW.

Any ideas or is this chip a real dog? One thing I did notice is that one of the coolers was very concave which couldn't have made a good contact on the core and I think this might have been the one that was on the e6550 but in all the switching around I can't be sure though CoreTemp didn't report anything out of the ordinary. I've flattened out the mating surface of that one cooler and will be giving it a try latter tonight.

Though I'm wondering if there might be something special about these chips compared to a e6300 like they like lots of voltage or need to be really cool to run fast.
I realize it's like asking "why is the sky blue" but just making sure there isn't something obvious I might not be aware of.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 18, 2008, 06:54 PM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

Your chip could be one of those ones that just doesn't want to go any higher....However as we all know...these Conroes are performance monsters and your chip should for sure be able, to do at least 3.0GHz.

First off I would like to recommend that you use a decent aftermarket cooler. Then you should look into the following:

Check how high you can go without having to change your Core voltage. Then gradually up the voltage a bit and see if that improves the situation. You might also want to see if you can change your multiplier....sometimes boards and/or chips will give you a hard time just because it doesn't like running on a e.g. '7' multi.

Let us know how it works out!
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 19, 2008, 09:16 AM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prof. Dr. Silver View Post
Your chip could be one of those ones that just doesn't want to go any higher....
That's what it's looking like right now . It will be on water in a couple weeks so we will see if that changes anything. And actually I had to drop the voltage slightly to get it stable at 425MHz. I'm not sure how good the temps are, I'm at 37/40 idle and 48/51 loaded though the AC5 had only been settling for about an hour at that point. Not the best I'm sure but I think that's not too bad for a stock cooler.

Ah well, it will give me something to play with until the 45nm quads come out.

Thanks
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2008, 07:41 AM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default

I m running my E6550 @ 2.7Ghz on stock cooling but I would get a after market cooling, it will make a difference in OCing the E6550.
once my new cooler comes in I will be OCing my cpu a lot higher. will post some result's.
__________________
ASRock Extreme 3,2500K,NH-D14,Patriot G2 16GB ,WD 750GB,640GB Sata ,2 GTX 470 SLi Thermaltake toughpower XT850W,Tech Station. V243H,2253LW LCD
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2008, 08:22 AM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

Let me know how that goes! I can't get anything past 425MHz no matter what, where the e6300 ran quite a bit faster on the same platform. AFAIK the only difference between the two chips is the extra 2Mb and I can't see that being a major handicap but who knows. It's possible I was just lucky to get the e6300 as far as I did on stock cooling and I can't expect that with the e6550.

I'll post what if any differences there are once I go on water in a couple weeks.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2008, 01:14 PM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default



here is what I got stock cooling right now 2hrs of prime
__________________
ASRock Extreme 3,2500K,NH-D14,Patriot G2 16GB ,WD 750GB,640GB Sata ,2 GTX 470 SLi Thermaltake toughpower XT850W,Tech Station. V243H,2253LW LCD
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2008, 03:37 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

Nice. Mine won't even POST @ 430MHz.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2008, 04:00 PM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default

Well at first mine would not post either, then some of the guys here showed me this site for my P5K mobo and what to set bois settings at.
http://forums.hexus.net/hexus-hardwa...s-p5k-add.html

but this is for more my mobo then yours, I will see if I can find a bois for your mobo for OCing

__________________
ASRock Extreme 3,2500K,NH-D14,Patriot G2 16GB ,WD 750GB,640GB Sata ,2 GTX 470 SLi Thermaltake toughpower XT850W,Tech Station. V243H,2253LW LCD
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2008, 07:28 AM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

Just a little update. I've got this chip on water now in my new case shown here. My idle temps are 27 and loaded temps are 37 and can't get 1 more MHz.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2008, 11:07 AM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

I gave up on trying to squeeze any extra out of my e6550 so I got a e3110. Started a new thread here.

Oh well, the e6550 will I think find a home in a HTPC.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Buy Confirms The Existence Of Its Secret Website Babrbarossa Off Topic 27 May 28, 2007 05:16 PM