Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2011, 04:51 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 12
Default Asus GTX 580 Directcu II Overclocking!

Hello,

I have bought the Asus GTX 580 Directcu II and fancy my hand at a little 'safe' overcloking. I have seen reviews of them overclocking the card from 782mhz to 950-970mhz.

I know it comes with Voltage Tweak software and SmartDoctor, but I cannot find any guides on how to use them and the safe parameters i.e. how to measure GPU temp, what's the max temp/voltage of the card, how to use the software.

I am COMPLETELY new to overclocking and if the process is as easy as moving a few sliders and job done I can get almost an extra 200mhz (10+ fps in games) for a few minutes work then I'm all in.
I've looked over the internet and cannot find a comprehensive Asus GTX 580 Directcu II overclocking guide. Please help!!

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2011, 09:45 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,537

My System Specs

Default

Try out MSI Afterburner.
Try moving the clock from 782mhz to around 810, and run furmark for 5 minutes. If you don't see any artifacts increase it again by another 10mhz and continue, you may need to increase your voltage a tiny bit to get a stable overclock.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2011, 12:48 AM
GT7R's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Our universe
Posts: 991

My System Specs

Default

Exactly. I did it the same way, but set a 840MHz as a starting point since this card is a better OC'er than reference versions. Mind you it's huge cooler has let me down big time, changed it for the much better Accelero S2 Extreme.
(Card is running at 910MHz core / 2200MHz memory at 1.125v.)

Last edited by GT7R; September 10, 2011 at 01:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2011, 05:39 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 87

My System Specs

Default

I use GPU Tweak from ASUS, it works very well, has a very nice interface, and even has a GPUZ build into it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2011, 07:40 AM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Is that it? No updates Beresford?

I will also be overclocking this exact same card and also might need some help. Thanks for the tips BTW guys! ;)
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2011, 04:49 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 53
Default

Raise voltage to max for the regular BIOS 1.15mV.

Set core clock to 900MHZ and see if it can run either Crysis or BF3,Metro 2033 if you any of those game.

If it runs those games increase memory 100MHZ.

Set fan speed high enough to cool the card.

If it runs those games and temps hit 80C+ back off voltage a little bit.

If all is fine start increasing core by 10-15MHZ until one of the games crash then back off a little.

I would use ASUS smart doctor to do this,or you can use MSI afterburner.

If you want to go higher there are BIOS out there to flash your cards.

He is a pic my 580 SLI overclock
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2011, 06:47 AM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Thanks man! Much appreciated! But do i set voltage through Asus smart doctor?
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2011, 07:51 AM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 683

My System Specs

Default

you can change the voltages through msi afterburner. But before you change your voltages, you may wanna just over clock maybe 50-100 mhz without changing any voltages. Run a bench mark and or furmark and see any issues, if not just use that. Or you can then change your voltages if you want to get higher clock. however, personally I would not recommend chanigng your voltages on a 500 dollars card lol


Thanks my opinion. 580 is a powerful card, what are you trying to run and what is your res?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus EAH5850 Radeon HD 5850 DirectCU T or Asus ENGTX460 DirectCU GeForce GTX 460 1GB tfy Video Cards 12 February 23, 2011 11:42 AM
[FS] ASUS DirectCU 5850 demonsblood Buy/Sell & Trade 0 July 25, 2010 09:33 PM