Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2011, 03:31 PM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
Default

Only thing I see if the CPU Ratio Setting (which I assume is the multiplier) and what does the first 3 digit number represent? ie. 200x21. Is it BCLK? Please let me know if there is something I overlooked.

Yes Ratio = Multiplier

and yes 200 is BLCK

BLCK x RATIO = CPU SPEED
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2011, 02:36 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by laughatyou View Post

Yes Ratio = Multiplier

and yes 200 is BLCK

BLCK x RATIO = CPU SPEED
yup thats right
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2011, 08:36 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
Default wrong settings

UCLK Frequency [3287MHz] thats too high this needs to be at 1.5 times the ram speed not double. Double is for a quad core cpu as urs is 6 core u need 1.5 times. Also set ur ram profile to turbo then go into ram subtimings and set ur ram to 9-9-9-21 or 24 then manually set ur trfc to 110 not 60, or 88 set it to 110 for the turbo setting. You should be able to set ur ram voltage to 1.58 or 1.60 plus make sure you set the qpi/vtt to .5 volt of the ram volts. Set the multiplier to 21 on cpu and voltage to hmmmm might try 1.42 first and front bus speed to 200 then u can work ur way up depending on the heatsink u have on cpu. Wait that heatsink should have the switch on the fan to speed it up which should run it rather cool, I'm running mine at 4700 mhz on water but still u should be able to get 4500 mhz out of it no prob.
__________________
intel 980@4500mhz
gigabyte x58a-ud5
24 gig of gskill sniper 1600
triple and double rads
dual serial d5 pumps
3x27 in asus lcd
dual 6970's ek blocks
corsair 1000w
mm case
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2011, 11:36 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
UCLK Frequency [3287MHz] thats too high this needs to be at 1.5 times the ram speed not double. Double is for a quad core cpu as urs is 6 core u need 1.5 times.
^^^ That statement IS NOT correct at all, yes in some cases 1.5x Uncore Frequency maybe all that is required instead x2, but not in all cases, particularly when your trying to run 12GB RAM at 2Ghz or more.
The problem lies with the IMC of your Chip (Intergrated Memory Controller), the better the IMC, the easier it will be pushing higher OC's with all your Slots populated with Memory (I'm assuming you are running 6x2GB sticks).
The difference with your RAM running 2Ghz vs 1.6Ghz will be negligeable (only in Benches),...

With 6x2GB RAM you'll have to bump up vTT along with vCore, strictly pushing vCore and leaving vTT on Auto may not accomplish anything.

Also, you were asking about Stability, try running LinX for 20 full cycles (problem size 25,000), let us know how you make out with that (keep an eye on Core temps...anything at or over 83c you may want to consider backing off).
I'm pretty sure with your vCore set that low you will likely BSOD.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2011, 11:42 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
^^^ That statement IS NOT correct at all, yes in some cases 1.5x Uncore Frequency maybe all that is required instead x2, but not in all cases, particularly when your trying to run 12GB RAM at 2Ghz or more.
The problem lies with the IMC of your Chip (Intergrated Memory Controller), the better the IMC, the easier it will be pushing higher OC's with all your Slots populated with Memory (I'm assuming you are running 6x2GB sticks).
The difference with your RAM running 2Ghz vs 1.6Ghz will be negligeable (only in Benches),...

With 6x2GB RAM you'll have to bump up vTT along with vCore, strictly pushing vCore and leaving vTT on Auto may not accomplish anything.

Also, you were asking about Stability, try running LinX for 20 full cycles (problem size 25,000), let us know how you make out with that (keep an eye on Core temps...anything at or over 83c you may want to consider backing off).
I'm pretty sure with your vCore set that low you will likely BSOD.
I'm actually running 3x4GB (XMS3 CMX12GX3M3A2000C9)
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2011, 05:21 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Quebec city
Posts: 98

My System Specs

Default

Try LinX 20 loop or 20 intel burn test pas and see what happens. There's a world between booting into windows and rock solid stable. One of those test will tell you where you stand.

I need 1,36 vcore for 4200 mhz on my 970, by the way...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD FX-8130P pushed to 5.1GHz on air terrybear Rumor Mill 19 September 2, 2011 11:11 PM
[WTB] Android Tablet 1GHZ, 10" under 200 yanhchan Buy/Sell & Trade 1 December 16, 2010 10:02 PM
P3 1Ghz keychain Unknownm Off Topic 11 November 30, 2009 08:18 PM
am2 x2 6000 3.1ghz 65nm? upcoast604 CPU's and Motherboards 8 January 12, 2009 02:28 PM
VR-Zone overclocks 2900xt Core to 1GHz!! Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 May 16, 2007 03:17 PM