Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2008, 10:08 AM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,735
Default My Overclocking Woes...

Gah. I can't stand this blasted EVGA board! I can do all the testing in the world, but nothing ends up stable.

Tested 8+ hours of Prime Small FFTs, stable. So I stopped that, ran some COD4. Decided to alt+tab out to check some music, and when I tabbed back into the game I was greeted with my BIOS post screen....lovely. I run Memtest too, start at night, fine in the morning, no errors. Hmm, interesting. Run FAH, 3 instances, 80% per core. Start that at night, end find my computer re-started in the morning.

I'm about to scrap this board. Why is my Maximus so stable? Why does it give me no grief?
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2008, 10:15 AM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

Who can tell man....I have had those same issues....maybe it is the luck of the draw? Who knows?
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2008, 10:19 AM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,735
Default

I'm so close to scrapping SLI and making the Maximus board+CPU my main machine. It's got a Q6600 @ 3.6GHZ no problem. But....CRYSIS. I pretty much only need to finish this game! It takes so long playing on Delta......
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2008, 11:20 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,657

My System Specs

Default

Ditch the 680i. Never again for me. Blew 2 boards, 3rd was never, ever fully stable.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2008, 11:27 AM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,735
Default

I think I will take that advice...... Why oh why can't they make a GOOD SLI board!!!
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2008, 11:35 AM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cptn Vortex View Post
But....CRYSIS. I pretty much only need to finish this game! It takes so long playing on Delta......
I finished it once on normal. In Delta I got bored once I got in the ship and then started over again. The jungle is da Bomb!
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2008, 11:48 AM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,735
Default

Yeah, it's been pretty fun. I have been playing with a friend of mine, switching off every time we die. Some parts are pretty darn hard. It teaches you to be really sneaky....Gotta be good at using your suits powers or else you WILL die. I think I am going to try my hand in kicking the EVGA board out, and doing a fresh install of XP mediacenter again....the copy of XP 64 bit may be part of the problem too, I just don't know.
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.

Last edited by Supergrover; February 8, 2008 at 06:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2008, 11:49 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,641
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Ditch the 680i. Never again for me. Blew 2 boards, 3rd was never, ever fully stable.
Another here speaking from experience... dead memory slot and ram stick on my P5N32-E SLI .. didn't even RMA.

680i and 780i is absolute trash!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2008, 12:02 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cptn Vortex View Post
Yeah, it's been pretty fun. I have been playing with a friend of mine, switching off every time we die. Some parts are pretty darn hard. It teaches you to be really sneaky....Gotta be good at using your suits powers or else you WILL die. I think I am going to try my hand in kicking the EVGA board out, and doing a fresh install of XP mediacenter again....the "Cracked" copy of XP 64 bit may be part of the problem too, I just don't know.
Good plan! And I recommend binding keys to your suit powers. I have mine bound to F1 - F4 for easy suit changes. Works AWESOME for Delta ;)



From tweakguides...

Quote:
Actionmaps.xml

This .xml file found under your \Documents and Settings\User\My Documents\My Games\Crysis\Profiles\[Profilename] in XP, or \Users\User\Documents\My Games\Crysis\Profiles\[Profilename] in Vista, is not a .cfg file strictly speaking. However it does hold the control bindings for the game, and can be edited to alter or customize the bindings, although generally speaking it's best to do this from within the game itself.

The file is organised into sections called 'actionmaps', and each actionmap is a set of key/button mappings for a particular game mode. For example there is an actionmap section for Helicopter controls called actionmap name="Helicopter", which means everything below that section up to the next actionmap is key and button bindings which only apply when flying a helicopter. To change your common in-game bindings, go to the section starting with actionmap name="default". There is also sections for multiplayer-specific bindings, and of course other vehicles and modes.

One reason you may wish to edit your bindings here is because the in-game options don't allow you to set the same key for two commands at the same time, whereas you can do so here. Importantly, you can also bind individual suit modes to particular keys (thanks to Ralf Ullrich for the info). To do this, first go to the actionmap name="player" section of the Actionmaps.xml file, and under this section make a blank line and insert the following - one set for every mode:

<action name="defensemode" onPress="1">

<key name="Z"/>

</action>

In the above example, the Z key is bound to Armor Mode, and a single press of it will activate that mode. However in place of defensemode above, you can substitute the following: speedmode for Speed Mode; strengthmode for Strength Mode; and suitcloak for Cloak Mode. And in the key name line you can substitute any key you wish.
And ya the net is riddled with 680i complaints, seems to be a very buggy board.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2008, 12:30 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,735
Default

Well now comes the hard decision: Do I bite the bullet and make the switch tonight? Or do I use the power of SLI until I finnaly beat the game....which could be a few more weeks. Or, even better. somehow make SLI work on the Maximus board....come on, we know we can......
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking help tzetsin Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 41 January 27, 2008 11:05 PM
Overclocking P4 1.8 Kassela Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 1 December 27, 2007 11:28 AM
Need some help on Overclocking ShinseiKen CPU's and Motherboards 10 July 11, 2007 07:41 PM
Dual Core Gaming Woes mattydies Troubleshooting 10 July 5, 2007 04:16 AM
C2D temperature woes Babrbarossa CPU's and Motherboards 35 April 1, 2007 12:39 PM