Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2008, 08:01 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 11
Default AMD Athlon X2 BE-2300 Temps

So I built my HTPC finally, it's come a long way but after several hardware changes it's finished.

It's built using the following components:

AMD Athlon X2 BE-2300 (Lovely 45w Part) w/ ThermalRight XP-120 Alu cooler @ Stock no OC

Asus M2N-VM DVI (Apparently does 1080p using onboard, we'll see)

2 GB of OCZ Platinum (Bought in haste before the launch of Conroe two and a half years ago)

Western Digital 500 GB 16Mb (WD5000AAKS-00YGA0, bought on reccomendation from SPCR, and it was $99! Really quiet drive, 100% reccomendation for HTPC builders.)

Happuage 500 MCE TV tuner

Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro

Lite-On SATA DVD burner (Yay no IDE!)

Seasonic S12 330w (Really cool running)

In an Antec NSK2480 2 x 120mm fans

Pics up soon, but first my problem:

Temperature reporting is out of wack



WTF Core Temp?



Speed fan shows a "reasonable" Temp1



Under Load, the temps certainly change.



Speedfan again under load, Temp1 is reasonable.

Now lost in this mess is the fact that before putting this together I had it running on my desk (with no fans!) with an old install of XP. Core Temp was reporting properly. When I switched back to this hard disk it still gave these wacky readings.

Any Ideas? I'm not worried, the exhaust fans were expelling barely warm air, H/S not hot to touch etc. Bios Reports a reasonable temp.

Just wondering if this has been noted.
__________________
Motherboard: Ati Radeon Xpress 200 Reference
CPU: AMD Opteron 165
Memory: Corsair TWINX1024-PC3200

Video Card: Connect 3D x1800GTO
Hard Disks: 2X 36 GB Raptor, 2 X 320 GB Seagate 'Cudas
Sound Card: SB Audigy 2ZS Platinum > Logitech z5500

Power Supply: Seasonic S12 500w
Monitor: LG LT204WT
OS: Windows XP Pro
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2008, 08:18 AM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Have you tried CPUID HWMonitor?
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2008, 03:40 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheator View Post
Have you tried CPUID HWMonitor?
Never used this one! Thanks for the idea.

Sadly it gives similar readings. Strange...

__________________
Motherboard: Ati Radeon Xpress 200 Reference
CPU: AMD Opteron 165
Memory: Corsair TWINX1024-PC3200

Video Card: Connect 3D x1800GTO
Hard Disks: 2X 36 GB Raptor, 2 X 320 GB Seagate 'Cudas
Sound Card: SB Audigy 2ZS Platinum > Logitech z5500

Power Supply: Seasonic S12 500w
Monitor: LG LT204WT
OS: Windows XP Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
temps Kassela Troubleshooting 7 March 13, 2008 03:46 PM
Question about my temps crazyazn Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 16 March 3, 2008 02:33 PM
Northbridge Temps bobcat Water Cooling 9 February 6, 2008 06:26 AM
GPU temps Infiniti Water Cooling 1 December 23, 2007 10:10 AM
ram temps? bushwickbill RAM 5 August 31, 2007 06:35 PM