Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2011, 11:04 AM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Just tested it on my SR2 system, it only stress 8 out of 24 threads
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2011, 11:34 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 9
Default

Let me explain:

My stress test focuses only on the stress of the CPU and not of the memory ... And for this reason it has low temperatures compared to other programs. The objective is to implement a testing program of stablity very fast which does not produce much heat.

Regarding the experiments:

Switching the CPU in a state of semi-instability, among the tests carried out, only my test program failed while other programs passed.

Ex1: cpu voltage rock solid with 1.25:
I decrease the vcore a little bit (1.24375).Then I test with OCCT IBT ... ... and I pass the test, while my program detects instability.

Ex2: cpu voltage rock solid with 1.25:
I decrease the vcore a little bit (same as before 1.24375), I try with IBT OCCT ... ... they give me a failure after a time much bigger than the time of my program.

@JD
I think that if you lower the vcore a little bit or you increase a little bit the frequency...the tests will give always "fail"
Could you confirm these results?

I hope I explained myself :-):-)

@Chilly
My test was created for 8 threads....for istance like the platform intel i7.

And thank you for your willingness
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2011, 12:43 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,891

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by makizeka View Post
@JD
I think that if you lower the vcore a little bit or you increase a little bit the frequency...the tests will give always "fail"
Could you confirm these results?
I will give it a try when I have some time to spare. I surely can't increase frequency anymore though as it results in my computer not being able to POST at all.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2011, 12:54 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,584

My System Specs

Default

How long is this test actually suppose to take?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2011, 01:00 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by makizeka View Post
@Chilly
My test was created for 8 threads....for istance like the platform intel i7.

And thank you for your willingness
My Xeon's in my SR2 are the one and the same platform as the i7 LGA1366 your testing on. My specific CPU's are Westmere(i7 970, i7 980x, i7 990x, Xeon 5600 series) which are a 32nm shrink of Nehalem(i7 920 and etc, Xeon 5500 series) with minor improvements(AES). Only real difference between the two platforms, 2nd QPI is enabled and price. The silicon is the same.

Just add either auto detection of threads or a field we can enter/select how many threads we want the program to spawn.
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2011, 01:03 PM
Coffaholic's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC
Posts: 112

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
How long is this test actually suppose to take?
No idea. Just started running it on my s775 quad and it seems to be working. More information would be nice on the screen as mentioned above. ie. how long the test has been running, or how long until the test is done if its not an infinite thing.
__________________
| Q8400 @ 500x8 w/ Corsair H70 | EP45-UD3R rev1.1 bios F11 | 2x2gb Gskill F2-8000CL5-2GBPQ @ 500Mhz | EVGA 560 Ti @ 960/1920/2150 | 64gb Patriot Torqx M28 |
| PC P&C 750w Silencer | Soyo 24" DYLM24D6 | Silverstone Fortress FT02B-W with Air Penetrator fans |

Steam \ BFBC2 ID - Coffaholic | RIFT - Coffaholic \ Perspice Shard


Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2011, 01:05 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,584

My System Specs

Default

Uh coffaholic, the test is designed for the i7 LGA1366 platform, not any other. I wouldn't be surprised if it gives you a false positive, crashes or just doesn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2011, 01:09 PM
Coffaholic's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC
Posts: 112

My System Specs

Default

Guess i misunderstood the poster. Oh well, i know im stable anyways :)
__________________
| Q8400 @ 500x8 w/ Corsair H70 | EP45-UD3R rev1.1 bios F11 | 2x2gb Gskill F2-8000CL5-2GBPQ @ 500Mhz | EVGA 560 Ti @ 960/1920/2150 | 64gb Patriot Torqx M28 |
| PC P&C 750w Silencer | Soyo 24" DYLM24D6 | Silverstone Fortress FT02B-W with Air Penetrator fans |

Steam \ BFBC2 ID - Coffaholic | RIFT - Coffaholic \ Perspice Shard


Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2011, 03:35 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
How long is this test actually suppose to take?
The test takes little time ... in my i7 950 max 5 minutes if the system is stable...but less if it is unstable ...
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2011, 04:19 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 9
Default

Developed new release!

Download:
http://www.cad.polito.it/research/Ev...es/M&G_v2a.zip

Changes:
- Optimized code and fixed some bugs.
- Addition of a progress bar.
- Running time.

On this page you will find the next versions of the tool:
Overclocking

Comments and criticisms are welcome!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDD fails S.M.A.R.T. short test, but passes long test? frontier204 Storage 10 May 19, 2011 04:10 PM
System Stability Test PuB_Evo Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 9 January 12, 2010 02:01 PM
Programs that can test GPU stability? Silvgearx Video Cards 19 March 11, 2009 08:43 PM
OS Stability Question CORE O/S's, Drivers & General Software 11 January 4, 2009 11:04 PM
4850 Stability Oversized Rooster Video Cards 42 July 30, 2008 08:30 AM