Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2008, 08:50 PM
Below_Cost's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada Eh?
Posts: 34

My System Specs

Default Accurate CPU temperatures?

So I have finaly decided to bite the bullet and dive into the world of overclocking. I put my system together about a month or so ago and the bug has bitten me.

My system specs are posted below in my Sig

I just ordered a Thermalright ULTRA-120 Extreme (from the Sponsored Deals post no less) but started doing a bit of overclocking with the stock Intel heatsink/fan.

I'm running Prime95 to test temps under load and Core Temp for the temps. For fun I ran SpeedFan as well as the ASUS AI Suite just to compare the temps. First thing I noticed was the large gap between AI Suite, SpeedFan and Core temp.

Below are screenshots of the three seperate programs. Please bear in mind I have not adjusted fan speeds at this point, I just was curious about this before I went further.


Core Temp on Idle = 51, 50, 48,49


SpeedFan on Idle (CPU) = 41


ASUS AI Suite on Idle= 41

Sooo... what one is more accurate? Considering it is a 3000MHz overclock on a stock heatsink/fan, what temperatures would be the most accurate?

Thanks for the help in advance guys. :help:
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2008, 09:13 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,835
Default coretemp

stick with coretemp as this uses the more reliable estimate of each cores temp -you can always calibrate speedfan by another 15oc if you like using that.

Anyway you cant oc a quad on a stock cooler safely. But given your at 3ghz and just over safe temps (65oc) you'll probably hit 3.4 with the TUX heatsink. Use orthos for stability testing as well prime 95...need to run it for around 8-24hours.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.

Last edited by magictorch; January 29, 2008 at 09:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2008, 09:20 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,136
Default

Hah, with those clocks, I was about to say that Speedfan was right, until I caught the words "stock heatsink". Speedfan does an excellent job of reporting temperatures - BUT you have to give it that 15 degree offset. So that chip was running at over 70 degrees - tell 'em to hurry up with that cooler!

And wow, I've never seen a Q6600 with all four cores the same temp...
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 30, 2008, 12:36 AM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

I have noticed that the latest version of Speedfan I got reports the same temps as the latest beta of Coretemp. They are also the same temps HWMonitor reports to, leading me to believe them. I really like HWMonitor, as it shows current temps, but also max reported temps. A great little feature!
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 30, 2008, 03:49 AM
Mr. Cipher's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London (UK)
Posts: 458
Default

There is confusion because some of the intel CPU's have their temperatures calculated with an offset from 85c, and others with an offset from 100c, to determine when to shut down. People are still arguing about whether or not the 15c offset should be made, so accurate temperature is hard to get in some cases. (google anything on intel core temps, tjunction, or tjunction max and you'll find the discussions).

Like they said, coretemp appears to be much more reliable and I would stick with that reading, if for no other reason than to be safe. Good OC!
__________________
i7 Red
EVGA X58 Classy | i7 920 D0 | Megahalems w. 1 noctua push| Mushkin Redline | Radeon HD 6870 | 2x640 WD Black | Corsair HX1000 | HAF 932 | Asus 26" LCD

C2Q Blue
Gigabyte EP45-UD3p | Q8400 @ 2.66ghz | Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme w. Scythe | Mushkin Redline PC2-8000 5-5-5-15-2T @ 400mhz |
BFG GTX 295 | 1.32TB WD HDDs | Corsair HX 620 W | Antec 900 | Acer 20" LCD
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2008, 08:20 PM
Below_Cost's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada Eh?
Posts: 34

My System Specs

Default

The Thermalright ULTRA-120 Extreme came in last week and I finally got around to installing it and trying to clean up some of the cables on the weekend.

Quite the temp difference with from stock, I was impressed


Core Temp on Idle = 32, 32, 30, 29

Now to see what I can get this puppy up too....

Last edited by Below_Cost; February 4, 2008 at 08:22 PM. Reason: Wrong pic :)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2008, 07:53 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: mississauga
Posts: 42
Default

i oc'd using speedfan 4.33
Q6600@3.4 using 1.2V
using the ultra 120 and OCCT for stability

temps start to spike when i'm over 1.25V under full load for more the an hour

one thing that i may add is to stay away form the asus Ai suit I never had any satisfaction or confidence using their software cpu up.
IIRC AsusAi had my Vcore up to 1.4v when i set it to 3.4
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2008, 12:34 PM
Below_Cost's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada Eh?
Posts: 34

My System Specs

Default

Krixxer,

Thanks for the numbers, gives me a ballpark where I can overclock too. As for ASUS AI Suite I try avoid it as well, in this case i quickly installed it to check the temps to compare to the others.

What kind of setup do you have (mobo, ram etc)?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2008, 02:17 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: mississauga
Posts: 42
Default

I'm not the guy who should be giving any advice as there are guys much more qualified then me around here.

I have a maximus with q6600 GO 3.4 @ 1.2V and balistix 8500 4-4-12 @974 using 2V


I took mine to 3.0 @ 1.3V from the very start and fine tuned from that point. this was my first OC attempt and it took me around a week of work to understand how things work and to find that 95% max performance happy place.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Q6600 Idle Temperatures zlojack CPU's and Motherboards 10 December 2, 2007 08:40 PM