Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2011, 03:24 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 2

My System Specs

Default Overclocking... Is it worth it?

Hello, I'm just wondering about overclocking. I've been reading around for a while now and see that my particular cpu, X4 970 BE gets up to about 4.0mhz stable for most people. I'm just wondering if I would see a worthwhile difference in performance in my system if I OC to 4.0 from 3.5. I definitely see the gain in some intel chips going from 3.4 to 4.5+.
I just use my pc for browsing, gaming and watching movies. So would it be worth it to do it? I guess I would have to try it to know if it would. But I'd like to hear some opinions on it.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2011, 03:46 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

in some games,depending on the resolution,yeah.

browsing,watching movies,nay


plus youll burn more petrol :)

welcome aboard as well!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2011, 04:19 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,223

My System Specs

Default

At the moment that extra 500 MHz won't help much for browsing.

If you have a REALLY inefficient movie player (that puts a whole bunch of load on the CPU) then the overclock may help prevent that one extra skipped frame when a lot of stuff is happening on screen. I at least saw that with the older AMD processors where 2.7 GHz to 2.9 actually did something. If the GPU is doing the work on decoding for the movie then you don't need overclocking at all - refer to all the benchmarks of Blu-Ray playing just fine on processors 1/8 as fast as what you have.
The same goes for games; it won't be a "WOW!" difference. It's more like enabling that one extra setting or bumping up detail one notch. In a real-time strategy game, it will mean a couple extra frames per second when you're dealing with a ton of units on screen.

Now if you do video encoding, or Folding @ Home, that extra 14% of clock speed will mean a little time saved. A small percentage off a task that takes hours will save you a couple minutes.
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 21, 2011, 06:19 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 2

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the replies and I'm glad to be on this forum. I just discovered it about a month ago.
I'm going to give it a try here in a couple of weeks. I want to upgrade my ram to something faster than the kingston value ram that I have right now. I've read on reviews that its good solid ram, but falls down when overclocking. And I'd rather wait and do it right before stressing something to much that's not supposed to be.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 21, 2011, 09:43 PM
francisw19's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Alberta
Posts: 246
Default

Welcome aboard!

Just to add another thing, it looks like you're running Crossfire GPU's...a CPU overclock will help you get better performance with your graphics by reducing/removing a possible CPU bottleneck. It's not such a big problem with a single GPU, but a CPU bottleneck becomes more of an issue with more than one video card.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2011, 08:09 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 29

My System Specs

Default

i have the 1055t, and i overclocked it from 2.8Ghz, to 3.7Ghz without increasing the voltage on the cpu, and to be honest i have not really seen much of a difference. the only thing i noticed is that when doing video rendering, it doesnt take as long. and that videos buffer faster. but other than that its still the same. the only other thing i got out of it was it bumped my computers rating from 7.4 to 7.6 and 7.9 is the highest possible score.

but i didnt have to increase the voltage so i dont have to worry to much about stability so its a win with the 1055t because if you did increase the voltage i have heard rumors of people getting their 1055t's all the way up to 4.5Ghz

i ran a 24 torture test with prime 95 and got 0 errors so i know my computer is stable at 3.7Ghz
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 16, 2011, 12:11 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,278

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FLATLANDRIDER View Post
i have the 1055t, and i overclocked it from 2.8Ghz, to 3.7Ghz without increasing the voltage on the cpu, and to be honest i have not really seen much of a difference. the only thing i noticed is that when doing video rendering, it doesnt take as long. and that videos buffer faster. but other than that its still the same. the only other thing i got out of it was it bumped my computers rating from 7.4 to 7.6 and 7.9 is the highest possible score.

but i didnt have to increase the voltage so i dont have to worry to much about stability so its a win with the 1055t because if you did increase the voltage i have heard rumors of people getting their 1055t's all the way up to 4.5Ghz

i ran a 24 torture test with prime 95 and got 0 errors so i know my computer is stable at 3.7Ghz
what kind of temperatures where you getting?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's this worth Arinoth Off Topic 14 August 31, 2010 09:38 PM
What's it worth? shayan288 Off Topic 11 August 31, 2010 10:22 AM
How much is this worth? Arinoth Off Topic 10 June 22, 2010 05:37 AM
Is this worth it? *done* feerof Water Cooling 9 April 29, 2010 10:10 AM
Still worth it? BrokenHalo83 Off Topic 0 April 18, 2009 02:40 PM