Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2011, 10:09 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: California
Posts: 4

My System Specs

Default Need Help on 980x Overclocking

I am currently a member of EVGA forums and usually hang out there most of the time, but through the CC I have come to know of this forum. The problem I am having in the EVGA forums is the majority of people have their MB's. I have the P6X58D Premium and know very little about overclocking. Does anyone here know Asus boards and have a template that I can go through and show what specs I have going right now. This will help me to find out what I need to change or if I have done anything wrong in my overclocking. I am currently trying to get to 4.2GHz+ on air and it is just not happening so far. The closest I have gotten is 4.14XX with 133.4 QPI and 31x multi. I have tried going the bClk route, but for some reason as soon as I start touching that the temps get high and fast. Any help you can provide will be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 16, 2011, 06:28 PM
MAC's Avatar
MAC MAC is offline
Associate Review Editor
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 969
Default

Well first and foremost, welcome to our forums

Can you tell me what you set your voltages to? Or were they just left on Auto?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 16, 2011, 06:30 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,250

My System Specs

Default

Also, what kind of cpu cooler do you have?
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2011, 03:41 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: California
Posts: 4

My System Specs

Default

Thank you very much your replies first of all. Thank you very much for the warm welcome. I was not sure at first what was going to be your reaction to me coming over. I finally after searching for weeks found a bios template for the Asus MBs. This is not what I have set on my BIOS because I just found this while I was at work, but I do know this part off the top of my head. The starred values I know are exactly what I have...everything else you can ignore and I will update when I get home.
Ai Overclock Tuner........... = [Manual]
CPU Ratio Setting............ = [31.0]*****
Xtreme Phase Full Power Mode. = [Enabled]
BCLK Frequency............... = [133]******
PCIE Frequency............... = [100]
DRAM Frequency............... = [1603 Mhz]
UCLK Frequency............... = [3209 Mhz]
QPI Link Data Rate........... = [6.4MT/s]*****

CPU Voltage Control.......... = [Manual]
CPU Voltage.................. = [1.4]*****
CPU PLL Voltage.............. = [1.80]
QPI/DRAM Core Voltage........ = [1.35]*****
IOH Voltage.................. = [1.10]
IOH PCIE Voltage............. = [1.50]
ICH Voltage.................. = [1.10]
ICH PCIE Voltage............. = [1.50]
DRAM Bus Voltage............. = [1.65]****
DRAM DATA REF Voltage on CHA. = [Auto]
DRAM CTRL REF Voltage on CHA. = [Auto]
DRAM DATA REF Voltage on CHB. = [Auto]
DRAM CTRL REF Voltage on CHB. = [Auto]
DRAM DATA REF Voltage on CHC. = [Auto]
DRAM CTRL REF Voltage on CHC. = [Auto]

Load-Line Calibration........ = [Disabled]
CPU Differential Amplitude... = [Auto try up to 1000mv for stability but may vary between individual cpus]
CPU Clock Skew............... = [Normal]
CPU Spread Spectrum.......... = [Disabled]
IOH Clock Skew............... = [Normal]
PCIE Spread Spectrum......... = [Disabled]

C1E Support.................. = [Enabled or Disabled]
Hardware Prefetcher.......... = [Enabled]
Adjacent Cache Line Prefetch. = [Enabled]
Intel(r) Virtualization Tech. = [Disabled]
CPU TM Function.............. = [Disabled]
Execute Disable Bit.......... = [Enabled]
Intel(r) HT Technology....... = [Enabled]
Active Processor Cores....... = [All]
A20M......................... = [Disabled]
Intel(r) SpeedStep(tm) Tech.. = [Enabled or Disabled]
Intel(r) C-STATE Tech........ = [Disabled]

*******************
DRAM Timing Control
*******************


1st Information:
DRAM CAS# Latency............ = [9]
DRAM RAS# to CAS# Delay...... = [9]
DRAM RAS# PRE Time........... = [9]
DRAM RAS# ACT Time........... = [24]
DRAM RAS# to RAS# Delay...... = [AUTO]
DRAM REF Cycle Time.......... = [110]
DRAM WRITE Recovery Time..... = [AUTO]
DRAM READ to PRE Time........ = [AUTO]
DRAM FOUR ACT WIN Time....... = [AUTO or 31 and higher]
DRAM Back-To-Back CAS# Delay. = [Auto]

2nd Information:
DRAM Timing Mode............. = [2N]
DRAM Round Trip Latency on CHA = [AUTO]
DRAM Round Trip Latency on CHB = [AUTO]
DRAM Round Trip Latency on CHC = [AUTO]

3rd Information:
DRAM WRITE To READ Delay (DD) = [AUTO]
DRAM WRITE To READ Delay (DR) = [AUTO]
DRAM WRITE To READ Delay (SR) = [AUTO]
DRAM READ To WRITE Delay (DD) = [AUTO]
DRAM READ To WRITE Delay (DR) = [AUTO]
DRAM READ To WRITE Delay (SR) = [AUTO]
DRAM READ To READ Delay (DD) = [AUTO]
DRAM READ To READ Delay (DR) = [AUTO]
DRAM READ To READ Delay (SR) = [AUTO]
DRAM WRITE to WRITE Delay (DD)= [AUTO]
DRAM WRITE to WRITE Delay (DR)= [AUTO]
DRAM WRITE to WRITE Delay (SR)= [AUTO]

I read a lot of information in the day and a half since I have posted here. I think a big thing I wasn't thinking about when going from 4.14 is that when boosting that I was pushing my memory above the stable 16xxishMHz I had it at. How would I go about changing the ratio on the RAM to to keep the 16xxMHz on the RAM while bumping everything else up? Lastly, I think I may be too high on 1.35v on the QPI as I went straight too that Vlt because of reading somewhere that was the place to start. After reading more information I realize this might not be the case.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2011, 07:48 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Alberta
Posts: 261

My System Specs

Default

Hi Cmartin

I ran a test, based on your ram this morning. Here is what I came up with for numbers based on stock cooler and room temperatures of 20 C.
*As always there is an inherent risk of damage to components when overclocking, these numbers are just what worked for me.

End results at 100 percent cpu usage(folding big adv)
4.2 ghz at 56 C (Asus probe reading) 62 C (Real Temp GT3.60)
Ram at 800 @ 2:8 Triple channel
QPI Link 3608
NB frequency 3408


200 x 21
Ram 1600
vcore 1.3
cpu ppl 1.4
qpi/dram 1.36
dram bus 1.65
The rest at Auto
__________________
Code:
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2011, 09:31 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: California
Posts: 4

My System Specs

Default

Everything looks good to me. I will work on trying to get to that point. I know that the risk is all assumed by me in the event something happens so no worries there. I was having trouble posting on here yesterday to answer the other question asked of me. I am using the H50 cooler with two AP-29's in push/pull intake on the HAF 932 case. What cooler are you using shredder? Also, are you using the board in your sig? I don't think mine is as extreme as yours so I might be limited trying that rouse to get to 4.2, but I will give her a shot anyway. I appreciate you taking your time to test it out for me though. I will report back my findings tonight when I get out of work.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2011, 09:50 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Alberta
Posts: 261

My System Specs

Default

I have the stock cooler with switch set on performance and a small additional fan sitting on the video card to directly cool the ram. Good luck with the test run.
__________________
Code:
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2011, 10:02 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: California
Posts: 4

My System Specs

Default

Do you think the H50 is comparable if not better than the stock cooler? Did you use the board in your sig or my board? Do you think that would make a huge difference in my overclocking abilities? I appreciate all the information you are giving me such quick responses.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2011, 05:16 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Alberta
Posts: 261

My System Specs

Default

I used my board, and setup the run as if I had the same ram as yours.

Im not familiar with your cooler, is it the H-50 that our own Reviewers went through? Corsair Dips into Water with the Hydro H50 | Hardware Canucks

The write up on the stock fan is here
Intel Core i7-980X Gulftown Six-Core 32nm Processor Review
__________________
Code:

Last edited by Shredder; May 19, 2011 at 05:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2011, 09:28 PM
bkh2's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 265

My System Specs

Default

I have 4.175 using:

Multi: 25x
BCLK: 167
Vcore: 1.35
Vqpi: 1.325

However, I have my RAM only running at 1400MHz. I'm using an Asus P6T which is a lower end baord compared to the P6X58D (I think). btw, it's watercooled. I wasn't sure if you were only looking for results from air cooled ones.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help Overclocking UD9 / 980x to 4.2Ghz on Air. Gangifilms Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 14 December 13, 2011 01:59 AM
980X @ 4.25 Ghz rjbarker Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 7 January 10, 2011 06:49 PM
Will the 980x ever be reasonably priced? draemn CPU's and Motherboards 15 January 1, 2011 07:36 PM
i7 980x, trying for 4.4GHz bkh2 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 September 30, 2010 11:30 PM
Overcolcking i7 980x bladehawk Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 March 30, 2010 09:35 AM