Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2011, 10:54 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 223

My System Specs

Default Odd shutdown issue

So I was fiddling with my 480's voltage and clocks to see how far I can push it with WC, but I seem to run into a sudden shutdown whenever I bump up the voltages to 1.125V or up the core clock to 815. Each time I start the OCCT GPU test, it shuts down as soon as it starts. No crashes, no artifacts, no errors - just complete shutdown.

Would this be a problem with the PSU not giving enough power to the cards? Or maybe a motherboard issue? Because afaik, 1.125V is safe for 480's.

Any help is extremely appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2011, 11:06 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

well its possible you are pulling in excess of 650 watts from those overvolted 480's, however the psu should be able to handle it.

maybe theyre pulling too much,rather, more than the above?

PowerColor HD 6870 PCS++ 1 GB Review - Page 21/27 | techPowerUp

stock 480 pulls around 300 something under furmark. if you add voltage,hmm.....

GIGABYTE GTX 480 GV-N480SO-15I Super Overclock Review - Page 30/31 | techPowerUp

you could probably add 100 watts more,each?

SilverStone Technology Co., Ltd - Designing Inspiration

combined +12V 960W/80A(Peak 85A)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2011, 11:19 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 223

My System Specs

Default

Well, if you put it that way... Maybe I am running out of voltage? Because I have my processor overclocked too (3.6ghz @ 1.45V).

If so, these cards are much more power-hungry than I anticipated
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2011, 11:44 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

the only way to tell would be to get a kill a watt or a blue planet energy meter and check whats pulling at the wall.
i still dont get it why enthusiasts dont have one in their drawer...i get ppl who buy dells to check there emails but if you
actually tinker with ya puter? hmmmm

if your eyes pop out then its quite clear, wattson :)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2011, 02:37 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 223

My System Specs

Default

Very well. I went to hit up the local hardware shops, and all they had were the old fashioned multimeters Just went to Newegg and bought a kill-a-watt. I'll report back once I find out what my computer pulls off the wall
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2011, 04:27 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

looking good.
start off with idle.

then prime 95 on the cpu...

then furmark on one gpu.

if the numbers are still wordly, then furmark the second one as well :)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2011, 01:19 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 223

My System Specs

Default

So I haven't received the Kill-a-watt yet, but I've come across an interesting observation: I recently overclocked my CPU up from 3.6ghz to 3.7ghz. It's fully stable as it ran through 30 runs of IBT on high. Now that I try running the OCCT GPU test though , it crashes exactly the same way as when I upped my voltages in my 480's.

Would you say that this is most definitely a power supply issue with this finding?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2011, 12:08 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 223

My System Specs

Default

Got the Kill-A-Watt. Here's my wattage levels:

Idle: 220W

OCCT GPU: 920W

OCCT Power Supply Test: 940W. After about 40 seconds, it froze, and then suddenly shut down.

So what's the verdict? Power supply overload, or something else?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2011, 01:37 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

well it says 960W on the side of your psu for 12v rail(s)....and if you take efficiency and do a bit of math, numbers look pretty :)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2011, 02:35 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 223

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
well it says 960W on the side of your psu for 12v rail(s)....and if you take efficiency and do a bit of math, numbers look pretty :)
Yeah, I understand that its barely hitting the limits of my power supply. I'll run a few more stability tests to see if I can find the problem.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odd 206BW static/flicker issue Galcobar Display Units 1 July 5, 2010 01:02 PM
Odd network issue Agafaba Troubleshooting 17 March 22, 2010 11:00 AM
Odd Driver Issue Arinoth Troubleshooting 6 March 5, 2010 09:24 AM
Very Odd Boot Issue NES O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 November 1, 2009 09:59 PM
Odd issue with overclocking and CPU voltage Arundor Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 1 July 8, 2009 01:09 PM