Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2011, 04:04 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

but but, there are also secondary rails, and perhaps the efficiency is not exactly written in stone at the present case temps,rather ambient temps
the power supply unit is coping with.

either way, put everything to stock and furmark the gpus again.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2011, 07:44 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 223

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
but but, there are also secondary rails, and perhaps the efficiency is not exactly written in stone at the present case temps,rather ambient temps
the power supply unit is coping with.

either way, put everything to stock and furmark the gpus again.
Yep, did what you said, and it still crashed. Guess it's my video cards that can't take it

Thanks a bunch for the help! Saved me a ton of cash from splurging on a new power supply
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2011, 09:02 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

somethings off

when everything is stock, and i mean everything, whats it pulling at the wall?

and how are temps? open up aida64 and look,voltages too.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2011, 09:04 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 223

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
somethings off

when everything is stock, and i mean everything, whats it pulling at the wall?

and how are temps? open up aida64 and look,voltages too.
Oh! That's what you meant! I put everything else but my GPU's at stock, and tried increasing the GPU voltage again. No dice But when everything's at stock, it all works just fine.

Temps are awesome, with 40C on my CPU and 58C on the hottest 480 under OCCT when they are all OC'ed
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2011, 05:36 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

ok, and when EVERYTHING is at stock, whats it pulling at the wall?

i still think its your psu :)

or motherboard. if its got an extra place to hook up power, do hook it up!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2011, 11:59 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 223

My System Specs

Default

Okay, reverted everything back to stock, and the power draw during the OCCT GPU test was 686-688w. I've plugged in all possible power connectors into the motherboard, so I'm not sure where I could feed extra power to the board.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2011, 02:30 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

good. now oc one gpu an do it, then if all is good do it with the other one as well.
always take note of the readings and see where you encounter problems.
if its too far from the power supplies limit it can be good for rma, although i also
think the cards when overclocked hard could stress the motherboard circuitry more.
too bad you dont have a reset button on the psu,one tahts needed to be pushed
if it overloaded. thats the easiest way to tell which is which,well at least to take out
the psu unit from the 'whats wrong' list. i do have one just in case,and many a times ive found
that high clocked gpus in sli or crossfire on motherboards that have no extra power(molex,or pci-e)
can and will pose a problem under stress,extreme stress that is. without that one psu i wouldnt be
able to tell,even with the kill a watt handy,for sure 100%
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2011, 05:35 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 223

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
good. now oc one gpu an do it, then if all is good do it with the other one as well.
always take note of the readings and see where you encounter problems.
if its too far from the power supplies limit it can be good for rma, although i also
think the cards when overclocked hard could stress the motherboard circuitry more.
too bad you dont have a reset button on the psu,one tahts needed to be pushed
if it overloaded. thats the easiest way to tell which is which,well at least to take out
the psu unit from the 'whats wrong' list. i do have one just in case,and many a times ive found
that high clocked gpus in sli or crossfire on motherboards that have no extra power(molex,or pci-e)
can and will pose a problem under stress,extreme stress that is. without that one psu i wouldnt be
able to tell,even with the kill a watt handy,for sure 100%
Okay, will do. Although that'll pose a problem, as I can't exactly OC one card unless I remove the second card out of my board, which is only possible by removing it from my loop, which is a lot of work

I'll see what I can do though. Thanks a ton for the help!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2011, 06:49 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

you sure you cant overclock just one with evga precision?
dont take it out,lol.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2011, 07:08 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 223

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
you sure you cant overclock just one with evga precision?
dont take it out,lol.
Well, afaik EVGA Precision doesn't have voltage tweak settings, and I won't be able to hit my clocks without it. Unless they updated that part recently?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odd 206BW static/flicker issue Galcobar Display Units 1 July 5, 2010 02:02 PM
Odd network issue Agafaba Troubleshooting 17 March 22, 2010 12:00 PM
Odd Driver Issue Arinoth Troubleshooting 6 March 5, 2010 10:24 AM
Very Odd Boot Issue NES O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 November 1, 2009 10:59 PM
Odd issue with overclocking and CPU voltage Arundor Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 1 July 8, 2009 02:09 PM