Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2011, 06:19 PM
r0k0's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Posts: 759

My System Specs

Default New ram In

So i needed new ram for the second rig, but i decided to buy some Kingston Hyper-X DDR3-1600mhz 2x2GB, set the ram speed at the highest i could for 367mhz FSB / 15x multi / 1457mhz ram for a 1:2 ratio but freezes or wont reboot

now its on auto to get in windows but only at 880mhz and timing on auto at 6-9-9-24-2T

thats at 3.3Ghz on a Q6600

Specs Below :)
__________________
Intel i7 3930K / 16GB Corsair Dominator DDR3-2400
Asus X79 Rampage Extreme Black Edition / EVGA GTX 690
Corsair Carbide Spec Alpha / EVGA NEX750 Gold
Corsair 480GB SSD / 1TB WD Black

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2011, 09:47 PM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 656

My System Specs

Default

Sorry man, I run kingston DDR2 on my old Q6600 and it is the worst ram I've ever had. It doesn't even like to run at stock speeds, let alone OC'd.
__________________
MSI GT72 6QE-033US - 6700HQ, GTX980M, 1080p G-Sync IPS, 16GB DDR4, 1TB Evo 850 SSD, 256GB Toshiba SSD, 2TB Barracuda, BD-Rom/DVD-RW
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2011, 07:52 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,691
Default

you sure the chipset can hold it?

if you tried manual settings too instead of auto,then perhaps clock it a little bit lower, maybe between 1350 and slowly go up?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] SD ram and RD ram.. and mini pci wireless cards shockthebox Buy/Sell & Trade 4 April 27, 2009 09:32 PM
need new ram kyle_L RAM 11 March 1, 2009 02:31 AM
ram? Tazer-[X] Troubleshooting 10 August 1, 2008 02:11 PM
Is Patriat Ram Great Ram or not mailaw RAM 2 July 21, 2007 04:48 AM
Which ram? darksideleader RAM 5 July 18, 2007 09:58 PM