Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 10:37 PM
Ging9's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: St. Albert, Alberta
Posts: 82

My System Specs

Default Asus AI and CPUID

Just assembled my new SB tower including and Asus P8P67 Deluxe and 2500K. Thought I'd try my hand at using the AI software. I fired it up and it gave me a 31% overclock to roughly 4.5 GHZ...I thought, "great"...that was easy.

SOOOO....I download the latest CPUID to check things out and this is what I get when I run it...

[IMG]file:///C:/Users/Peter/AppData/Local/Temp/moz-screenshot.png[/IMG][IMG]file:///C:/Users/Peter/AppData/Local/Temp/moz-screenshot-1.png[/IMG]

I don't understand why the CPU frequency reads so low along with the multiplier being only 16. Name:  CPUID capture.PNG
Views: 728
Size:  96.1 KB
__________________
Asus P8P67 Deluxe, i5 2500K, MSI 560 GTX Ti, Corsair 600T, 4X2 GB Kingston 1600, Corsair H60, PC P&C 750.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 10:39 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 10:44 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post


you got power saving thingie enabled, if its stable no worries.

drop prime or linx on it and see if its cool.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 11:01 PM
Ging9's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: St. Albert, Alberta
Posts: 82

My System Specs

Default

Power saving thingie? Ok, so how do I calculate my actual clock speed? Sorry for the dumb question, but I don't understand why it's reading so low.
__________________
Asus P8P67 Deluxe, i5 2500K, MSI 560 GTX Ti, Corsair 600T, 4X2 GB Kingston 1600, Corsair H60, PC P&C 750.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 11:26 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,144

My System Specs

Default

Run somthing CPU hungry check it agian while it is running. benchmark.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2011, 04:13 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: 44N by 79W
Posts: 360
Default

Newer processors will choke back the speed and multiplier in order to save energy while it is sitting idle. They are Al Gore approved. Run something that requires the computer to work while leaving CPUID open and it should jump right back up to your actual frequency and multiplier.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2011, 07:42 AM
Ging9's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: St. Albert, Alberta
Posts: 82

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the help! Ran Prime 95 64 bit and CPUID shows 4326 mhz, 42 multiplier and 1.3 volts....
__________________
Asus P8P67 Deluxe, i5 2500K, MSI 560 GTX Ti, Corsair 600T, 4X2 GB Kingston 1600, Corsair H60, PC P&C 750.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] All sold!! stoanee Buy/Sell & Trade 63 April 20, 2014 12:05 PM
BIOS & CPUID show different CPU Frequency Rasparthe Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 0 January 9, 2011 11:15 AM
Installing SSD & W7 (Using Asus Recovery Disc) On Asus G51J Notebooks rjbarker Mobile Computing 0 February 19, 2010 12:36 PM
CPUID Hardware Monitor - temps question somecanadianguy Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 June 16, 2009 06:11 PM
Q about real temp by intel and CPUID monitor contractk Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 March 29, 2008 10:51 AM