Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2011, 04:41 PM
sakage.shinga's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 215

My System Specs

Default Comments on my OC

Hi guys,

So I've had my rig mildly overclocked for a few weeks now, and everything is stable as far as I can tell, but I'd like to get people with much more experience than I have to take a quick look at my BIOS settings to confirm that I've not made any big no-no's.

AI Overclock Tuner Mode : Manual
CPU Ratio Setting : 21
Intel(R) SpeedStep(TM) Tech : [Disabled]
Xtreme Phase Full Power Mode : [Enabled]
BCLK Frequency : 160
PCIE Frequency : 100
DRAM Frequency : 1600MHz
QPI Frequency : [Auto]
CPU Voltage Mode : [Manual]
Load Line Calibration : [Enabled]
CPU Spread Spectrum : [Disabled]
PCIE Spread Spectrum : [Disabled]

CPU Configuration
C1E Support : [Disabled]
A20M : [Disabled]
Intel SpeedStep Tech : [Disabled]
Intel C-STATE Tech : [Disabled]

This is pretty much all I've touched in my BOIS. Thoughts? Comments?

Thanks!
__________________
Photography/Gaming build: i7-4770K, NH-D14, Z87 Sabertooth, 16GB Ripjaws X, GTX 780 OC DirectCU II 3GB, M500 480GB, Caviar Black 2TB, Dual Red 4TBx2 (RAID 1), XFX Pro 850W 80+ Gold, Graphite Series 600T SE White
HTPC build: i5-750, Hyper 212+, P7P55D Pro, 8GB Ripjaws X, R6970 DirectCU II 2GB, Caviar Black 640GB/2TB, Caviar Green 3TB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB, Strider Plus 750W, CM 690 II Advanced
Mobile Media: Asus Transformer Infinity 32GB w/ keyboard dock
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2011, 04:55 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

you got to leave the cpu protection on, increase your bus, drop ram to 1333 or whatever till you find a cpu speed stable,
drop qpi if you cant get it stable. start with linx 5-15min, then if ok, prime it and loop 3dmark.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2011, 07:34 PM
Wi-Fuzzy's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dauphin Manitoba Canada
Posts: 288

My System Specs

Default

you should have more room left. Intels turbo clocking for this core is 3.2 ghz.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2011, 12:39 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 4

My System Specs

Default

You should be able to push it to 3.6-3.8 with leaving everything on auto...

I can do 21x180 with 1.25v.

But my rams run a little slower... 1440 instead of 1600, which give me a chance to reduce the timing.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2011, 08:15 PM
sakage.shinga's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 215

My System Specs

Default

Thanks guys. I'm happy with ~3.33GHz for now, might try bumping it to 3.8 in the near future once I'm done playing Dragon Age Origins, which doesn't handle OC'd rigs very well.
__________________
Photography/Gaming build: i7-4770K, NH-D14, Z87 Sabertooth, 16GB Ripjaws X, GTX 780 OC DirectCU II 3GB, M500 480GB, Caviar Black 2TB, Dual Red 4TBx2 (RAID 1), XFX Pro 850W 80+ Gold, Graphite Series 600T SE White
HTPC build: i5-750, Hyper 212+, P7P55D Pro, 8GB Ripjaws X, R6970 DirectCU II 2GB, Caviar Black 640GB/2TB, Caviar Green 3TB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB, Strider Plus 750W, CM 690 II Advanced
Mobile Media: Asus Transformer Infinity 32GB w/ keyboard dock
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comments on my potential new HDTV TimTheEnchanter Display Units 3 December 19, 2010 01:01 AM
Advice or Comments on OC MrSpeaker Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 7 April 6, 2010 09:57 PM
Comments for startup Pike HardwareCanucks F@H Team 14 May 17, 2009 07:52 PM
Anyone have an X6 Keyboard ? Comments ? BMWDriver Peripherals 12 March 18, 2009 07:51 PM
Request for comments low351 Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 20 March 5, 2008 12:56 PM