Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2011, 09:12 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: toronto, on
Posts: 48
Default

asus says there is about 10% of these chip can go over 4.8ghz

Quote:
Expectations regarding K series overclocking in general and on ASUS P67 motherboardsPrior to the recommendations on overclocking the K series, I am outlining our results to set expectations.
The results below are based on the range of the CPU turbo multiplier when overclocking.
Results are representative of 100 D2 CPUs that were binned and tested for stability under load; these results will most likely represent retail CPUs.
1. Approximately 50% of CPUs can go up to 4.4~4.5 GHz
2. Approximately 40% of CPUs can go up to 4.6~4.7 GHz
3. Approximately 10% of CPUs can go up to 4.8~5 GHz (50+ multipliers are about 2% of this group)

Additionally it is recommended to keep 「C1E」and「EIST」option enabled for the best overclock scaling. This is different than previous Intel overclocking expectations where the best scaling was with disabled power states or power management options.
Update specific to D2 and retail parts: Jan 11 2001
As always ASUS strives to be at the forefront of performance and functionality offered by a quality bios. Keeping this in mind ASUS has been actively working in conjunction with Intel to optimize overclocking potential on ASUS P8P67 motherboards and K series CPUs. With the latest bios revisions ( 1000 series ) or 600 series for ROG specific optimizations have been made to the microcode and corresponding tables that relate to D2 and retail parts. These are improvement are in addition to general improvements in all respects. Present with this new build of the UEFI is a new option. This option / value is “ Intel PPL Overvoltage” this option furthers multiplier scaling considerably.* In addition due to the increase in scaling more exotic forms of cooling cannot be used and will be needed under certain multiplier ranges and corresponding voltages. The general maximum range for the highest performing dual fan air based heastinks still remains 50x to 52x.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2011, 07:52 AM
Wi-Fuzzy's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dauphin Manitoba Canada
Posts: 288

My System Specs

Default

Ive been messing with this chip. The only way I can seem to get it run at 4.6 is by using the factory overclocking settings. Anything above 4.6 and all I get is a blinking curser in the top left corner of the screen. Kinda wierd...4.6 runs folding@home 6 days straight on all 8 cores 100% usage. 4.7 will not boot...blinking curser. I keep thinking i'm doing some thing wrong. If 4.6 runs %100 stable, you'ld think 4.7 would at least try to load windows.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2011, 08:11 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,472
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wi-Fuzzy View Post
Ive been messing with this chip. The only way I can seem to get it run at 4.6 is by using the factory overclocking settings. Anything above 4.6 and all I get is a blinking curser in the top left corner of the screen. Kinda wierd...4.6 runs folding@home 6 days straight on all 8 cores 100% usage. 4.7 will not boot...blinking curser. I keep thinking i'm doing some thing wrong. If 4.6 runs %100 stable, you'ld think 4.7 would at least try to load windows.
I used a MSI 1155 board with a 2600k and all I did was bump the cpu voltage to 1.3v and the ram voltage to 1.65 volts and jumped it to 4.5 and it was rock solid.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2011, 08:41 AM
Wi-Fuzzy's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dauphin Manitoba Canada
Posts: 288

My System Specs

Default

What do you use...the fixed voltage or the offset ie (stock + .05v) If I try it myself. It will run at 4.6 but the mutliplier bounces back and forth between 4.5 and 4.6 under load...like it's throttling. If I go auto overclock ...rock solid 4.6 @ about 1.6ish volts and 64c loaded temps all 8 cores. Another problem is that this is a folding box...so I don't really get much opportunity to play with it. because I don't get to play to much...I'll ask some questions.

What does your board show for stock voltage?
Do you change fixed or offset v?
What volt are you running?
Does anyone change other voltages?
Spread spectrum auto?
loaded temps at ____ mhz?
Does anyone mess with those watt and amp settings?
Any problems people have had and solved?
Next weeks Super 7 numbers?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2011, 05:12 PM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 552

My System Specs

Default

ho geez, 1.6v? that is a little much no?
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2011, 05:35 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canaduh
Posts: 375

My System Specs

Default

1.6v vcore gotta be typo.....
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2011, 06:09 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 600

My System Specs

Default

Ya, I'm stable at 4.5GHz with a + offset and on load the core is about 1.24v max.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2600k benchmark botat29 CPU's and Motherboards 12 January 17, 2011 02:03 PM
Low profile HSF for 2600k lowfat Air Cooling 15 January 11, 2011 09:10 PM
Intel i7-2600k Zink HardwareCanucks F@H Team 19 January 7, 2011 12:39 PM
Sandybridge ES 2600K review??? Delavan Reviews & Articles from the Web 37 January 2, 2011 07:15 PM
Sandy Bridge 4.5 on AIR i7 2600K ZZLEE Rumor Mill 9 November 26, 2010 10:09 PM