Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2011, 09:10 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 14
Default overclocking to 4ghz?..help?

hey everyone here are my specs:

AMD Phenom II 1055T Six Core Processor 2.80ghz (oc to 3.6ghz)
-ASUS crosshair IV mobo
-evga gtx 580 oc edition video card
-12gb ddr3 corsair 1333mhz
-windows 7 64 bit home premium
-cool master 922 case
-corsair 750w power supply with 80 plus
-22 inch benq led monitor
-coolmaster v6 cpu cooler

i have already successfully got my rig to 3.6ghz and ran prime for 12hr 30min no warnings nothing at all.
note in the pic i am posting i changed the multipleir to 14 dont mind it saying auto..
i was going to ask is there any way i can get to 4.0 ghz at all with the currents system i have and if so what to i change in the bios.??
here my pics of my bios...what do you think ishould change?

http://www.overclock.net/attachments...1120111198.jpg

http://www.overclock.net/attachments...1120111199.jpg

http://www.overclock.net/attachments...1120111201.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2011, 09:15 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,588
Default

getting to 4 is hard without crazy voltage and stress on both the cpu and motherboard.

I did it, you just need alot of voltage, more then what I would consider safe for 24/7 use (and I think a few people here can agree that I'm quite lax with my tweaking of voltages :P)

I have mine settled on 3.8 and change.



but if you really want to.. up your voltage to about 1.55 (or even 1.6 I think I pushed it to), increase your ram timings / drop your ram frequency, up the northbridge, PLL and southbridge voltages a touch and hope for the best! I think I pushed close to 4.2 before i backed off.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2011, 12:55 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

These chip have hard time getting to 4Ghz, the 12GB just don't help. With your setting unless you have a dead crazy chip you probably wont hit over 3.9.

Lark pointed at pretty much that could be needed maybe it's the memory that limit you so you can also try increasing the voltage on it a bit also.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2011, 01:39 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

watch your ratios, nb speeds,and so on. drop ram on the lowest multi, and as always see before
doing anythign else if your htt manages :)

adding juice here and there will help.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2011, 03:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 14
Default

by looking at the pics i posted where can i make the changes???
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2011, 03:42 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

1st pic : drop cpu ratio,dram freq, cpu/nb, ht link speed,

pic 2 : once you have stability issues slowly add juice,

pic3 : auto.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2011, 09:27 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Try to keep all the setting under control. That mean leave no auto if possible.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Success ! 4Ghz homer98 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 October 13, 2010 04:43 PM
i7 980x, trying for 4.4GHz bkh2 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 October 1, 2010 12:30 AM
4ghz i7 860 Fudd Rucker Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 13 February 27, 2010 09:51 PM
i7 4ghz :D vagnaar Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 18 January 16, 2010 01:41 PM
i5 750 @ 4ghz Fudd Rucker Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 December 16, 2009 12:56 PM