Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2011, 11:10 PM
Brian@NCIX's Avatar
NCIX System Builder
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Richmond
Posts: 66

My System Specs

Default i7 970 overclocking

Hi guys, fairly new around here, just decided to drop by and share my results for OC-ing!

I decided to start OC-ing the 970 after I got my job at NCIX for..yeah self explanatory, anyways, everythings stuffed in a 912, reason I chose such a small case is for the extreme negative wind pressure with 3 120MM & only 1 200MM megaflow, it allows my Noctua NH-U12P to breathe a whole ton better, this OC isnt set in stone yet as I'm still only using 2x3GB DDR3-1600MHZ OCZ obsidian ram (got them in HK for 20$ a piece!), I plan to upgrade to more suitable RAM like XMS3's or Dominators.



The OC was intended for the lowest voltage and highest multiplier while working with this set of RAM. I think I achieved that with a 4ghz OC & 1.296VCORE :)

I plan to set a personal record by going at least 4.7GHZ if possible, though I don't want to implode the processor or RAM
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2011, 11:10 PM
Brian@NCIX's Avatar
NCIX System Builder
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Richmond
Posts: 66

My System Specs

Default

Ah, picture didnt update, here it is

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2011, 09:20 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 7

My System Specs

Default

Nice, thats around the voltage I use for 4ghz too. Think its about middle of the road.

Use realtemp GT to get temps for all cores.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2011, 09:41 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

looking good indeed.

if you wanna do it the quick way, set your stuff in bios, then go back to windows and let it linx for a few minutes.
if it doesnt crop out right away(5-10mins) then chances are youre close. let 3dmark loop as well.if that dont crash it,
start prime as well. itll be completely slow, but hey,its for testing sakes :)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2011, 10:18 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

if its a new retail 970 not RE you should be able to do 4.5 under 1.4v
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2011, 08:05 PM
Brian@NCIX's Avatar
NCIX System Builder
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Richmond
Posts: 66

My System Specs

Default

i've got it to 4.29ghz at 1.296v!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2011, 08:25 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canaduh
Posts: 375

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zsamz_ View Post
if its a new retail 970 not RE you should be able to do 4.5 under 1.4v
he already hits 88C @ 1.3, 4.2 is pretty much it IMO

personally i wouldn't go above 70-80 for 24/7
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i7 970 voltages Fudd Rucker Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 2 January 25, 2011 10:02 AM
[WTB] I7 970 processor boggtrotter59 Buy/Sell & Trade 7 January 3, 2011 04:49 PM
[WTB] Intel i7 970 Inik Buy/Sell & Trade 1 December 22, 2010 06:52 AM
i7 970 overclocking chrisk Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 14 December 21, 2010 08:38 AM
[WTB] RE i7 970 Goalieman077 Buy/Sell & Trade 13 December 9, 2010 01:52 PM