Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2011, 07:08 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 16
Default

After installing and running MSI Afterburner I discovered that the core clock was indeed locked at 400 MHz and the memory at 900 MHz and would not "ramp up" regardless of circumstances, so I installed the latest video drivers (Catalyst 11.2) and the video card now works properly, backing off to 157 MHz core clock, and 300 MHz on the memory while web browsing and ramps up to 875 MHz core and 1250 MHz memory like the XFX HD 5870 is rated for.

Oddly enough, if I have a YouTube.com window open (even if it's minimized) the clock speeds on my video card return to being locked at 400/900 MHz until I close the window. Very strange indeed. Anywho, upon discovering this problem with my video card it raises doubts in my mind that my memory might be doing something similar as CPU-Z is displaying my memory as running under settings worse than stock, and I don't see it "ramping up" when under duress. Seeing as I tend to believe what CPU-Z is saying as it has been spot-on with everything else so far, and also that when I tried overclocking to 3.2 GHz on my cpu my computer was freezing after boot up and I had to back down to 2.93 GHz to avoid it, I'd like to take a closer look at my memory and see if that might be the cause of the freeze.

I was thinking of first going into the BIOS and locking in the stock timings there to begin with and see what happens. The memory in my system is 6GB of Crucial Ballistix PC2-6400 at 4-4-4-12 timings with a cas latency of 4 at 2.0 volts. As the picture below illustrates, it's certainly not running at that. 400 MHz? If I'm not mistaken, PC2-6400 means the memory has a frequency of 800 MHz. Yes, I realize this is "supposed" to ramp up under duress, but I suspect funny business, and I'd like to check.



Any suggestions on what might be going on and how I might try going about fixing it would be greatly appreciated. On another note, upon installing these new video drivers I've discovered that the text in games has become fuzzy around the edges, making it very hard to read. Any idea what's going on there and how to fix it?

-Edit: Apparently enabling Morphological Anti-Aliasing can cause fuzzy text, as is the case with me.

Last edited by Dreamsickle; February 24, 2011 at 07:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2011, 08:16 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,635
Default

Its DDR2 memory.. Double Data Rate.

400mhz means its 800mhz memory. Its fine
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2011, 08:39 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sudbury, ON
Posts: 110

My System Specs

Default

Looks like you got almost everything going right.

What are you using to test your OC to make sure its stable?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2011, 12:02 AM
ABXG's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Carleton University, Ottawa
Posts: 38

My System Specs

Default

I am able to run my e6750 at 450x8. I run it at 1.45v. It has been overclocked (and stable) with this setting for almost 4 years (I bought it when it was released). You should be able to squeeze more performance out of that CPU of yours.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2011, 06:20 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sudbury, ON
Posts: 110

My System Specs

Default

Depends on his Vid, cooling.

The most I can get with my Q6700 on this P5n-d is 3.5.

The p5n-d is OK for overclocking. it has poor cooling on the NB and can become very unstable when you try and push it to its limit.

The freezing sounds like lack of voltage to Vcore, but if he is already getting high temps he may have to lower his FSB.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2011, 02:54 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 29

My System Specs

Default

One of the best overclocking boards is a gigabyte, some hit 500+ fsb and hit 4+ on the core.

It all depeneds on what your overclocking, some board overclock better with core 2 duo and some with quads.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2011, 02:59 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,635
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unsurper View Post
One of the best overclocking boards is a gigabyte, some hit 500+ fsb and hit 4+ on the core.

It all depeneds on what your overclocking, some board overclock better with core 2 duo and some with quads.
That isn't true.

Biostar had some good P45 boards and Abit IP35-Pro had a great board for P35
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2011, 03:01 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 29

My System Specs

Default

biostar is crap for overclocking, same with msi, msi is like a time bomb.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2011, 03:31 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,635
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unsurper View Post
biostar is crap for overclocking, same with msi, msi is like a time bomb.
You my friend have no idea about overclocking then.

Abit IP35-Pro for P35 and the Biostar TP45 was WICKED for overclocking on the P35 and P45 chipset.

I ran my e8400 upto 4.5ghz on the IP35-Pro and my e8600 @ 4.9ghz on the TP45
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2011, 05:07 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 29

My System Specs

Default

From when 775 came out in its prime yea alot of good boards but im talking about now.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] LGA 775 quadcore peter.t Buy/Sell & Trade 1 October 18, 2010 09:57 PM
[WTB] LGA 775 motherboard flightsimnerd Buy/Sell & Trade 3 January 16, 2010 05:20 PM
[WTB] LGA 775 motherboard elec999 Buy/Sell & Trade 1 June 15, 2009 08:19 PM
LGA 775 Mobo, What should i get? arekieh CPU's and Motherboards 16 April 17, 2009 02:52 PM
Buy LGA 775 or go with LGA 1366? HermesĄ˘ New Builds 9 November 28, 2008 08:30 AM