Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2011, 01:15 PM
AKY AKY is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 18
Default Need help with new 2500K system

Hey everyone,

So I have a bit of a problem. I just bought my brother a new 2500k system and the overclocking isn't going very well.

The system: 2500K, MSI P67-C43, 8 GB of Mushkin Stiletto, Spire Thermax II Cooler (expensive and supposed to have good results), housed in a Thermaltake V4 case with 4 case fans, also a 6870.

First of all. When I try to overclock it will not register any OC change. All of the voltages work, but if I change the multiplier then it still remains at 33 in the mobo and all of my tools register it at 33. It simply wont change. Just found an exception: CPU-Z shows my frequency running at 4.1GHZ (like I put it at). However, Speedfan, Everest(which won't recognize my mobo since I flashed it), motherboard bios, windows, etc: All of these show 3.3GHZ

Secondly, idle temps on this are 41C. I ran two tests of IntelBurn test and it got up to 70C.

This is at 1.3 VCore, but stock GHZ.

Thirdly, in the MSI overclocking utility I have no control over any voltages other then Vcore and RAM voltage. In all of the guides they show access to all of the other voltages but I cannot access these.

I have overclocked several systems before, but didn't run into any problems.

This was my first time mounting a heat sink so is it possible that I didn't mount it correctly? I applied the proper amount of compound, I am not sure why temps are so high.

Thanks for the help.


Just to add on, here is what Speed Fan and Core Temp are showing for voltages.

Core Temp:
VID: 1.3761

SpeedFan:

VCC3V: 3.30V
Vcore: 1.30V
VDDA: 1.87V
+12V: 10.65 V
Vdimm: 2.16V
VLDT: 0.74V
VCC1.5V: 1.04V
VSB3V: 3.22V
Vbat: 3.25 V

Last edited by AKY; February 12, 2011 at 01:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2011, 01:32 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

while the c43 is not really an oc's dream board, it should still do some :) especially with unlocked multis.

do all the clocking in the bios, leave the utility alone. temps are not the end of the worlde.

dont go for the highest multi right off the bat.

before you add voltage,unless youre lazy, do clock or at least try to on stock everything.

could you plz post the whole system in your sig or something?


Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2011, 01:34 PM
AKY AKY is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 18
Default

Sorry, by the utility, I meant that I was just overclocking from the BIOS.

And considering on most tests that the Spire Thermax II reaches only around 50C on load, I feel like something is wrong here. Stock heatsinks go 70+, not $60 aftermarket ones.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2011, 01:39 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

in bios? ok, what multis have you selected? im not too familiar with that board, you did chose manual over auto right?

Intel Sandy Bridge Core i5-2500K & Core i7-2600K Processors Review

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2011, 02:00 PM
AKY AKY is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 18
Default

I went back to my Bios which now registers my multiplier change (I was indeed running at 4.1GHZ).

Not sure if the heatsink is mounted incorrectly... I will have to redo that, but it seems like it would be a big pain because with the size of the cooler I will have to take the entire mobo out in order to redo everything with enough room for the screw driver to screw the heatsink in. The fan is a huge pain to get on when it is in the case, took like 30 min cause of no room.

Also, I do not have a push/pull configuration for the fans. I have a push on the right hand side and there is a 120mm exhaust system fan on the other side in the back of the case with barely enough room for my second heatsink fan so I did not mount it.

As an update:

I went back to all motherboard defaults.

I then ran the Intel stress test again and I was getting around 48-50C as my max for any core.

Strange. Pretty low temps, but it doesn't seem normal to jump up to 70C with my non-extreme overclock.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2011, 02:11 PM
AKY AKY is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 18
Default

This is the bottom of my heatsink. I did the drop method in the middle and then placed the heat sink on top. Would have it been better to do the line method?

http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/image...hp?image=28271
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2011, 02:11 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

looking good. now all its left is to drop folding in there, dont forget team 54196 :)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2011, 02:27 PM
AKY AKY is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 18
Default

Uhmm.. Good that it runs at 50C yes, but no overclocking then I guess? I bought the Spire Thermax and the 2500K in order to at least get an overclock of 4.5 GHZ, which seems like it should not be an issue.

Some more info. When I overclocked it I changed the voltage to 1.3 VCore. I also disabled all of the features that the common overclocking guides say to disable.

Under stock settings and auto voltage it is about 1.15 VCore.

Under stock settings when I run the stress test, Core 1 sits at 49C, Core 2 at 50C, Core 3 at 47C, and Core 4 at 45C. This is pretty consistent.

However, like I said. Temps got to 70C and that was with only 2 runs of the StepTest. This was at 4.1GHZ and 1.3 VCore.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2011, 02:33 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

no, leave it at 4.1 if its stable. 70c is nothing. 1.35-1.4 is ok, according to a forum post/intel thingie..:)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2011, 03:06 PM
AKY AKY is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 18
Default

Ahh.

So I tried a 4 GHZ Overclock at 1.275 V to do another test and now my system will turn on, but after 3 seconds it turns itself off again :/ Brother will not be pleased.

Any ideas how I can fix this? I get nothing appearing on the screen, it just turns itself off.

Reset the CMOS?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Sandy Bridge High C/P Combo-Core i5-2500K with GIGABYTE P67A-UD3R OC Guide windwithme Member Reviews 5 February 10, 2011 02:38 PM
2500K + P8P67 Pro Overclocking Realityshift Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 0 January 24, 2011 11:20 AM
No gain from Radeon 4870 + Core i5 2500k folding frontier204 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 3 January 18, 2011 05:56 PM
AKG? Best Coolers for Sandy Bridge 2500K-2600K OC Delavan Air Cooling 12 January 10, 2011 04:33 PM