Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2011, 09:14 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
Default i7 860 4ghz, RAM stability?

Hello everyone,

I am running my i7 860 on an asus p7p55d pro. I previously had a 3.8ghz OC with 200x19 Vcore I believe was around 1.375. HT on.

After checking some benchmarks online I decided to turn HT off and go for some extra mhz for gaming reasons.

The thing is I lowered the ram to about 1200 but kept all other settings the same, and had several hours of prime saying that my 4.0ghz was stable. When I brought the RAM back up to 1600, the system failed prime. my RAM timings are all set to their recommended timings and voltages (1.65v C8) and the IMC volts are pretty high at 1.36 or so (one notch above 1.35). The ram also seemed very stable at those settings at 3.8ghz cpu.

What should I be increasing here? Prime blend tests don't push the system beyond 77 deg C.

thanks,

Matt

Last edited by mattnum; February 6, 2011 at 09:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2011, 09:49 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,569

My System Specs

Default

What's your qpi/vtt set to?

EDIT: or is that what you mean by the IMC voltage?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2011, 12:16 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

by imc voltage he means vtt

matt try runnin around 1800-2000mhz 9-9-9-27 trfc 120
you should hit 4.0 no ht pretty easily

better yet get some better ram
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2011, 04:55 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

I keep mine at 3.8 and run the ram at 1800 with no problems......not worried about that extra .2
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2011, 05:19 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

that makes no sense he can't get it stable at 1600 so turn it up passed it max setting if you have all slots filled that may be why i myself am having the same problems cause the more ram you got the more the imc has to do and not all i7 860 can do 4.0ghz easily. but i can tell ya that there almost no difference in games between 3.8 and 4.0. i have had 4 or 5 920 setups this year and now have moved on too 1156 chips and there's really not a big difference in the higher end models. with that said try upping your ram voltage one point at a time as-long as your within .5v of the imc your good

or run out and by better ram so you can see it only in benchmarks if that's what your going for then sure but you should be able to work this out with the ram you have
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i7 860@ 3.8ghz Stability issue help please mattnum Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 January 21, 2011 12:29 PM
980x temps, voltage, stability, RAM bkh2 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 10 August 6, 2010 12:24 PM
4ghz i7 860 Fudd Rucker Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 13 February 27, 2010 08:51 PM
[FS] I7-860 Motherboard-CPU-RAM MarkOne Buy/Sell & Trade 21 February 23, 2010 12:20 PM