Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2011, 06:59 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 78
Default i7 920 Achieveing 4Ghz D0

So i have been alot of reading while trying to push 4Ghz on my i7 920 and for some reason i seem unable to achieve a solid 4Ghz overclock. Been referring to this guide

Right now im running it at which i think is a pretty low voltage for 3.6 meaning i have a fairly good chip for overclocking. Ram is running below spec @ all times to keep it out of the equation .


3.6 Ghz 24 hour prime stable( Max Temp is 60)
Vcore: 1.18125V
Vdimm: 1.65
BCLK: 180
Qpi 1.3v
cpu pll: 1.8V
ich/ioh 1.1V

4.0Ghz not stable setting (max temp hits about 85-87)
Vcore: 1.2850V
Vdimm: 1.65
BCLK: 190
Qpi 1.4v
cpu pll: 1.88V
ich/ioh 1.2V

its just confusing me how i can hit 3.6 at such a low voltage and need such a big boost from 3.6 to 4.0

Any advice is greatly appreciated
__________________

i7 920 D0 @ 4ghz
Custum WC Loop
Asus P6X58D-E
6 Gb Corsair 1333
EVGA 760 GTX
NZXT Phantom

Last edited by MikeFallen; February 3, 2011 at 08:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2011, 07:06 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,092

My System Specs

Default

Im at 1.329 to get 3.8 on C0/C1 920
your lucky thats a low voltage at 4.0
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2011, 07:11 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,085

My System Specs

Default

If it's a C0, it's not surprising that it won't hit 4.0. Mine wouldn't go past 3.8, even under water. As I recall, very few C0's were able to hit 4.0 with air cooling.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2011, 07:16 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,589

My System Specs

Default

My C0 920 was able to hit 4GHz however that was at 1.4V and it was only ever 95% stable too.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2011, 07:21 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 644

My System Specs

Default

I ran the old 920 that I sold to Trayton at 1.28v 190bclk 4ghz with turbo. Chip was a d0 though ran under a nh-d14 at 65c folding 24/7 error free.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2011, 07:26 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,092

My System Specs

Default

D0 are almost a differnt chip from a C0. Mine was baugt before there was many DO. I didn't know enugh at the time also.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2011, 07:46 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 143

My System Specs

Default

I was disappointed with my C0, too. 3.84@ 1.31V, but 1.4V wouldn't even give me 3.9. It's the cpu, not you.
__________________
Heatware
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2011, 08:07 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
My C0 920 was able to hit 4GHz however that was at 1.4V and it was only ever 95% stable too.
That's funny.
__________________
"What is the colour when black is burnt ?" - Neil Young
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2011, 08:14 PM
sukebe's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: burnaby, bc
Posts: 14

My System Specs

Default

Takes pretty high voltage for 920 c0 indeed
4.0Ghz ex58-extreme
Vcore: 1.41250V
Vdimm: 1.54
BCLK: 190
Qpi/vtt: 1.320v
cpu pll: 1.80V
ich/ioh: 1.140V
load line calibration: enabled
uncore frequency: 15x
system memory multi: 6x


Try lowering your uncore and ram multi at first. Don't know why but for the love of god i could not get my ram to run at the advertised spec 1600 or even 1520
But unless your on water i think 4ghz is far out of reach. My watercooled temps get to about 69/70ish max running prime95 for a couple hrs.

Last edited by sukebe; February 3, 2011 at 08:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2011, 08:19 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 78
Default

yeah its d0 tho shoulda stated that first bah
__________________

i7 920 D0 @ 4ghz
Custum WC Loop
Asus P6X58D-E
6 Gb Corsair 1333
EVGA 760 GTX
NZXT Phantom
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
APPRAISAL: i7 920 D0 4ghz @ 1.27v Artel Off Topic 16 June 7, 2010 01:49 PM
[FS] i7 920 C0 3843A795 (3.8-4ghz) 0o0 Buy/Sell & Trade 6 May 23, 2010 05:08 PM
i7 4ghz :D vagnaar Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 18 January 16, 2010 12:41 PM
[WTB] Any i7 (1366) capable of 4ghz+ W3520/950/920 monkey_mo Buy/Sell & Trade 2 January 14, 2010 07:03 PM
P6T i7 920 3.4GHz??? sinticfury Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 August 20, 2009 07:57 PM