Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2011, 08:22 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 78
Default

meh i think ill shoot for 3.8 i cant see the performance difference between 3.8 and 4.0 being that much
__________________

i7 920 D0 @ 4ghz
Custum WC Loop
Asus P6X58D-E
6 Gb Corsair 1333
EVGA 760 GTX
NZXT Phantom
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2011, 08:28 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,074

My System Specs

Default

Whats uour "QPI Link" in Cpuz

everythig you get over about 3500 is gravy
Im at 3625 that were my bord and chip limmit me right abuot here.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2011, 09:21 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,008

My System Specs

Default

The way I've seen it happen given the same clock speed:
More voltage, cooler chip
Less voltage, hotter chip (leaky transistors)

I have an i7 920 D0 going into a build that needs 1.360V for 20x200, but it runs pretty cool at 65C on water, compared to my first 920 D0 that ran 4GHz@1.325V 75C on water.

Since you're already hitting close to 90C @ 4GHz unstable, you'll want to get some better cooling before trying to push higher. Don't think you need to bump PLL to 1.88 either.. Try something lower to help bring temps down.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2011, 03:39 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

missing some information.

What motherboard are you using? and what cooler are you using? Actually scratch that, I'm guessing your using a Corsair H50 or 70, from the other thread you had.

All my 920 D0's (the ones I used to run), I instantly go to 1.35v vcore, and leave memory at 1.65, and i've never touched the QPI, PLL or any other voltages. When at 1.35, start scaling back the voltage until it goes unstable.. some would get to 1.31v, some had to be bumped up to 1.38v.

At temp max (folding at home) they are usually around 79-85c, depending on chip, with a Coolermaster V6GT or Corsair H50 (dual fans) on them with good case ventillation.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2011, 05:30 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 78
Default

my qpi was hitting 3600 @ 4Ghz so maybie i have to drop the multi ill try that this evening
__________________

i7 920 D0 @ 4ghz
Custum WC Loop
Asus P6X58D-E
6 Gb Corsair 1333
EVGA 760 GTX
NZXT Phantom
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2011, 12:59 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,891

My System Specs

Default

I believe my CPU voltage is set to 1.35V in the BIOS, but it shows at 1.304V via CPU-Z at idle.

That nets me 4.2GHz (200 BCLK, 21x multi, HT on) stable.

Running i7 920 D0 on ASUS P6TD Deluxe. I can get you my actual BIOS settings if you'd like.

However it seems there's typically a gap where you need far more voltage to get only a couple hundred more MHz. So depending on your cooling, it may not be worth it.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2011, 01:52 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 78
Default

Yeah i think i was hitting my QPI ceiling, i dropped multi too 2x now my QPI is @ 3436 Mhz and its stable 4.0 Ghz @ 1.24375V push to 4.2 now maybe

Temps are like high 60's
__________________

i7 920 D0 @ 4ghz
Custum WC Loop
Asus P6X58D-E
6 Gb Corsair 1333
EVGA 760 GTX
NZXT Phantom

Last edited by MikeFallen; February 4, 2011 at 03:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2011, 01:50 PM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Default

Hi. I'm new here so any input is greatly appreciated.
I'm trying to hit a stable 4ghz with my i7 920 D0 and have read a lot of threads and tried them myself.
The problem is, I don't know if I'm doing it correctly, especially my v core way above other D0 users.
Hope you can help me. Here are my specs and what i have done so far:

i7 920 D0 batch number 3913B140
Asus Rampage II Gene Bios 1202
Gskill 6Gb (2gb*3) 1600Mhz 9-9-9-24
Prolimatech Megahalems with 1*120mm fan
HEC Cougar 700w PSU
GTX 4xx Video Card
160Gb 7200rpm Seagate HDD
TT v3 Casing

At default BIOS settings CPUz reads my voltage to 1.25

I was able to hit 3.6 Ghz Stable with the following changes:
180 BCLK
Multiplier 20x
1.29375 Vcore
1.64356 Vdimm
Dram freq 1443mhz
Turbo Boost Disabled
All settings enabled or auto
Stable using Intel Burn Test @ High Stress Test with max 75C temp

I tried to push it to 3.8 with the same settings and got stable @ high stress test with 78C max temp.

Now for the 4Ghz, i tried the same settings except I raised the vcore to as much as 1.33125 and got BSOD during the last stage of stress test so
I changed the settings to:

BCLK 191
Multiplier 21x
Vcore 1.32500
Vdimm 1.64356
C1E disabled
CPU TM Disabled
Hyperthreading Disabled
Passed the Stress Test (Intel Burn Test @ High) with max temp of 78C
Looks great but....

I am still worried about these settings for a couple of reasons
1. CPUz detects vcore of 1.336 which I think is too high for a D0 (even on BIOS @ 1.32500)
2. although I passed the Stress Test, there was an instance that my mouse lagged which i think is an indication of instability
3. The ROG logo during boot hangs for about 2 seconds which i did not experience at stock settings & 3.6Ghz Settings

It seems I'm still missing something. I don't want to raise my Vcore anymore because I think this is already enough for a D0 processor.

Your help is greatly appreciated.

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2011, 03:16 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 29

My System Specs

Default

Some of those i7 920 and etc chips like odd numbers, try multi of 19 or 21 see if it gets stable, the DO should be easy to hit 4 and even 4.4 if you know what your doing. The CO is touchy and harder to high 4 stable, which is one of the chis that need multi of 19 or 21 odd numbers, plus it comes down to patches.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
APPRAISAL: i7 920 D0 4ghz @ 1.27v Artel Off Topic 16 June 7, 2010 01:49 PM
[FS] i7 920 C0 3843A795 (3.8-4ghz) 0o0 Buy/Sell & Trade 6 May 23, 2010 05:08 PM
i7 4ghz :D vagnaar Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 18 January 16, 2010 12:41 PM
[WTB] Any i7 (1366) capable of 4ghz+ W3520/950/920 monkey_mo Buy/Sell & Trade 2 January 14, 2010 07:03 PM
P6T i7 920 3.4GHz??? sinticfury Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 August 20, 2009 07:57 PM