Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2008, 01:11 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default I swear I looked far and wide, but I need someone to explain "strapping" to me

On my mobo I have settings in the mem multi section for "strapping", specifically there is an 800, 1066 and 1333 strapping attached to duplicates of 3 of the multi choices.

I have read references to NB latencies and such, and get the general idea of what it is, but I need to know more so I can decide how it may impact my o/c attempts...

rig in da sig...
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2008, 01:47 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

Where do you see that? I have the same board and don't recall seeing a strapping section. Can you take a pic of the BIOS screen?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2008, 01:53 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

Go to the memory multiplier section in MIT, some of the multi's have either a +, ~ or = beside them, then on the right hand side you will see an "explanation" of them saying "+800 strapping, ~1066 strapping, =1333 strapping" (I am guessing here, not at home now).

I wish I knew what the heck it meant...

it obviously means something...
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2008, 02:05 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

I'll have to check this out tonight. I think I know what you're talking about.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2008, 02:32 PM
reaverclan's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA,CA
Posts: 438

My System Specs

Default

omfg thank you i was using that too this what iv concurred that if u use the right symbol for your ram speed mines 800 then u can set it in increments, i have it unlinked from cpu and at 2.40:) hope that helps but if 3.0 could elaborate ont his conclusion plz loli hope im not frying my ram:)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2008, 02:47 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

See, I still have know idea what that means though, I am seriously out in left feild for what this is for...

my ram is 1066, but setting it on "1066 strapping" really depends on the FSB, with the 2180 at stock FSB I cant even get it to stock, as the top multi is 4 (800ddr), I just dont get it
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2008, 03:03 PM
reaverclan's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA,CA
Posts: 438

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by donimo View Post
See, I still have know idea what that means though, I am seriously out in left feild for what this is for...

my ram is 1066, but setting it on "1066 strapping" really depends on the FSB, with the 2180 at stock FSB I cant even get it to stock, as the top multi is 4 (800ddr), I just dont get it
ok if u have this first of all i have min set at 2.40= i believe for = is my symbol(800) it runs my ram at 912 unlinked from cpu that way:) just use your symbol for your ram type it says the types to the right when u scroll over spd auto. ill look at mine later today if u still dont get it, i jsut put it to what i though it meant prayed and bam it worked but if i over clock my cpu anymore without giving it more juice which im to lazy to do it boots but then vista doesn't have the control panel anymore lol
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2008, 03:18 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

But what I dont get is that if your ram is ddr-800, and you set it at 2.40= (800 strapping), and your final RAM speed is 933, then it ISNT running unlinked.

Unlinked would mean (to me) that no matter what you did to the FSB, and therefore the CPU, would not effect what you have the RAM set at. So you could leave the RAM at 800, and OC your CPU to whatever you want...
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2008, 03:36 PM
reaverclan's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA,CA
Posts: 438

My System Specs

Default

my ramis unlinked i runit at 912 on purpose cause i can and keep my nice timings it stays no mater the fsb, if u put spd to auto then watch as u choose to manual the fsb and then watch it change with the fsb trust me its unlinked read your manual for the mobo lol it says that.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2008, 03:53 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

Are you familiar with memory timings and latencies? Basically, the Intel memory controller has similar timings, although you can't change them directly. In fact, as you increase your FSB past a certain point, the controller will suddenly relax those timings, causing a sudden drop in memory performance.

The point at which this occurs depends on what you're using as your base clock speed, or your 'strap'. If you use an 800 strap, the memory controller timings will be tight for improved low-speed performance, but that 'sudden drop' will happen early on, and you'll be limited in how high the FSB will ultimately go. Using the 1066 or 1333 strap will loosen the timings up, letting you push the FSB higher, and delay that 'sudden drop' (ideally until a point beyond the FSB you actually use). But conversely, you'll need the higher speeds to compensate for the relaxed timings.

Here's a couple links which discuss it:

XS: FSB for noobs: Basic explanation.

Bleeding Edge: Rather technical, but has some good information.

X-Bit Labs: (Scroll down to "Stepped Performance of Nvidia Nforce 680i SLI" for some really helpful graphs)
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to deleted the "shared folder" create by live messenger ebdoradz Off Topic 1 January 7, 2008 11:57 AM
"Reviewer Tryouts:" Logitech Cordless Desktop LX710 Review Scratch Member Reviews 9 November 22, 2007 09:17 PM
Looking to buy my first 22" wide screen monitor Canadianguy Display Units 37 November 19, 2007 05:56 PM
TweakTown reviews GeCube X1950 Pro Champion Edition with "TEC" cooling Supergrover Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 December 18, 2006 10:44 PM