Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2011, 05:42 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Default OCing Help

So, this is my first post here, but I've been lurking the forums for a while now.

I'm running a Phenom II X4 965BE on a Crosshair IV Formula, and I'm having some issues OCing it. I've got it stable at 4.0GHz, but that's @ 1.5v, and after 9 hours of Prime95, the temp capped at 63C. I just got a Corsair H70 and installed it last night, so those temps are running that. Here's what I'm running at: (Keep in mind, I'm going from memory right now)

Phenom II X4 965 BE (125w)
Multiplier: 19
FSB: 210

If I try to OC it any further, I'm getting bluescreens within seconds of running Prime95. The bluescreens lead me to believe that it's voltage issues, but I'm already running rather high. I'd love any advice that anyone could give me.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2011, 09:50 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 644

My System Specs

Default

I don't like running deneb chips over 1.45v as the aren't suppose to run over 63c. I think I was able to get my old 965 to 4.1ghz at 1.44vcore.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2011, 09:58 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Default

The issue I'm having is it bluescreens if I lower the voltage below 1.5. I'm at a little bit of a loss as to what to modify, as I'm sure there's a way to get it up over 4GHz without such high voltage.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2011, 10:49 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

have you bumped up the northbridge and PLL voltages too?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2011, 11:09 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Default

It's stable with the NB on auto (I think it goes around 1.2v) with the CPU at 1.5v. I'm not sure what the PLL is, I'm a little new to the whole OCing scene.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2011, 11:27 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

you need to boost that NB for sure.

the CPU-NB setting and the VDDA Setting needs to be boosted as well, also, what is your ram voltage, speed and timings?


have you looked up overclocking resources on google?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2011, 11:55 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Default

I'll try boosting the CPU-NB voltages when I get home. I'll check what the VDDA settings are and boost them as well. My RAM voltage is set to auto, so I'm going to check that as well, but the timings and speed are set to the manufacturers settings.

I've done a bit of searching, which is how I got as far as I did with this endeavor, but I'm starting to hit a wall with what I can do on my own.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2011, 12:00 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

well that's part of your problem then. you can't keep the ram at stock while overclocking and you need to boost your other components.

You gotta give juice to everything else, and underclock your ram to compensate for the overclocking of the motherboard.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2011, 12:46 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Default

So you think the issue might be the RAM is clocking too high then? I'll try underclocking the RAM and see if that helps...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2011, 01:02 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: TO/RH/Markham
Posts: 244

My System Specs

Default

^^^ That should help. It did for me, and that was my main problem, as i was able to keep my voltages rather low (but then again, i'm only at 3.25 GHz from 2.6GHz).
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
965 , crosshair iv formula , overclocking , phenom ii

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Not New To OCing, But New To OCing A i7 Uberg33k Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 9 March 23, 2010 01:00 PM
Help OCing Q6600... Z Overlord Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 2 July 14, 2009 03:47 AM
Ocing necessary? and is it something a newb can do? Zippoh CPU's and Motherboards 12 December 30, 2008 09:05 AM
q9300 ocing bmfmass Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 December 23, 2008 11:07 PM
OCing help please SpateD Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 January 23, 2008 08:38 AM