Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2008, 08:01 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default donimo's e2180 o/c log

Hi, just wanted to start a log of my o/c results. I will edit this post for results, and post comments for any Q/A that goes on.

This is my first "real" o/c build since the day's of pIII's, and back then it was a lot less complex, pick a speed and pray!

Anywhoo, its the rig in my sig. The e218 runst at 2.0GHz stock @1.325Vcore on a 200x4 Bus speed.

For each attempt I will post the CPU speed then in parantheses I will add any changes from "normal" in the BIOS, and in brackets the idle/load temps from Coretemp 0.96.

First attempt: At first I thought I'd try to see how high I could go leaving C1E and EIST enabled, just out of curiosity, the answer is below:

2.25-2.95GHz - Boots into windows, runs TAT, CPUburn, Bioshock and media player with no issues, orthos chunks in 19 seconds. Tried upping the voltage in steps to 1.41v, still nada.

So, disabled it is!

Second Attempt:

After disabling C1E and EIST it seems to be going better:

2.75GHz (275x10, RAM +.2v)[38C/59C] - 4 hours Orthos stable so far, everything else is fine!

3.0 (300x10) -

3.0 (300x10, Vc1.4,Vmch+.1,Vfsb+.1) - boots, but fails orthos right away, resets

3.0 (333x9)[same as above] - ditto

3.0 (375x8Vc1.45)[40C/66C] - OK so far, but I have the Vcore way higher than I thought Id need too, especially since 2.75 is fine at 1.325... Orthos stable

Third attempt:

2.8 (280x10, Vc1.375)[38C/59C] - 10 hours Orthos stable, I think I figured out something that helps a bit, this board has major Vdroop, I set the BIOS at 1.375, but if I reboot and check the voltage in "PC health" it says 1.337v (even though the setting is still at 1.375), then on top of that, when I start orthos (or any load) it drops to 1.327v!, Seems the fixed this problem in a BIOS rev on some other GB boards, hopefully this one soon. Also running kinda hot...

Final Attempt:

3.2 (320x10, Vc1.470, NB+.2, FSB+.2) - loads windows but fails orthos right away

2.75 (275x10, Vc1.33)[38C/57C] - orthos stable for 8 hours, runs perfectly, Vcore is 1.31 under load so undervolted, obviously this chip has a wall because it goes up to 2.75 no prob, 2.8 with extra V and piss all after that...

THE END
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620

Last edited by donimo; January 13, 2008 at 04:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2008, 08:04 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

I know that the reason that the Gigabyte tool is way off on CPU temp (seperate sensor on mobo), but why is Intel's TAT program so far off as well?

at load I get these 3 temps:

ET5: 36C
TAT: 41C
CT: 56C

thats a big difference, and you would think Intel would know how to read the temp on an e2180
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2008, 10:21 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

any tips, I have read around, but it seems most people get a lot higher on less Vcore, I am still new at this remember
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2008, 10:33 PM
Wankerfx's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 583
Default

What is the stepping on your chip? Some of the E21xx chips have huge walls which require tons of voltage to get past.
__________________
[ER]
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2008, 10:49 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

m0, far as I know the 2180 only came in m0, the 40/60 had a couple different ones though....
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2008, 10:52 PM
Wankerfx's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 583
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by donimo View Post
m0, far as I know the 2180 only came in m0, the 40/60 had a couple different ones though....
I mean the stepping on the top of the CPU, thanks =)
__________________
[ER]
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2008, 10:56 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,897

My System Specs

Default

Do you have a fan on top of the NB and SB HSFs? The DS3L chipsets run hot and need some cooling. It will help stability. I remember running my E2140 at 3.0 with 1.475Vcore, Vmch +0,2, Vfsb +0.2.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2008, 12:00 AM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wankerfx View Post
I mean the stepping on the top of the CPU, thanks =)
Well, I thought that's what "M0" meant, but SLA8Y if you want to get super specific...

the e2180 only has one version as far as I can find, would like to know different if that's false...
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2008, 12:01 AM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Do you have a fan on top of the NB and SB HSFs? The DS3L chipsets run hot and need some cooling. It will help stability. I remember running my E2140 at 3.0 with 1.475Vcore, Vmch +0,2, Vfsb +0.2.
got a mini kaze fan on the NB (gets hot to the touch stock without one), keeping it at 32*C, SB is under my vid card, its right behind the pciex16...
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2008, 07:13 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,897

My System Specs

Default

I use a single SpotCool for both NB and SB, since my video card is an ATI X300 low-profile and the SpotCool can be setup close enough to both heatsinks.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking e2180 experiences Mr. Cipher Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 16 March 19, 2008 06:36 AM
BALISTX Intel E2180 Overclock BALISTX Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 28 February 25, 2008 12:39 AM
donimo's "forget e2180's, e6750's are where it's at" thread donimo Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 33 January 21, 2008 10:55 PM
temp. monitoring utilities and e2180 nikitos Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 18 January 15, 2008 02:12 PM
donimo's first "just for fun" rig donimo Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 21 January 12, 2008 11:30 PM