Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2011, 12:20 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Letum View Post
6950 is going to get a fix in a batch which removes the possibility of an unlock. I'm unaware when this is going to happen but it's been a reality for a week or two now so you may get unlucky and find yourself with a newer batch version which doesn't have the unlock ability.
Any idea of how to check for this? A friend of mine just bought a XFX 6950 and wanted to unlock it to 6970; he just got the card a couple days ago and hasn't tried yet...
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2011, 12:22 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,928

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyekanspele View Post
Any idea of how to check for this? A friend of mine just bought a XFX 6950 and wanted to unlock it to 6970; he just got the card a couple days ago and hasn't tried yet...
AFAIK there has been no suck lock made yet. All you can do is try to flash it.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2011, 08:09 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kingston
Posts: 14

My System Specs

Default

My Sapphire 6950 flashed to a 6970 (880/1375)no problem. I use manual fan control and just turn the fan up before doing anything that will push the card.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2011, 10:12 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 12

My System Specs

Default

NCIX.com - Buy Koolance VID-AR697 Full Cover CrossFire Ready Video Card Water Block - Radeon HD 6970/6950 G1/4 - VID-AR697 In Canada.



Would you trust slapping one of these on your system so overclocking 6950 isnt so taxing? Seems expensive for an addon, might as well buy a 6970 w/o aftermarket cooling???
__________________
ASUS P6X58D-E X58 ATX | Intel Core i7-970 Gulftown 3.2GHz | G.SKILL Pi 6GB 3X2GB DDR3-1600 CL6-8-6-20 | MSI Twin Frozr II GeForce GTX 470 1280MB 320-bit GDDR5 PCI E2.0 x16 | (Primary) Intel X25-M 2.5" 160GB SATA II | WD Caviar Black 1TB SATA3 6GB/S 7200RPM 64MB | Samsung SH-S223L/BEBS 22X SATA DVDRW | Corsair Graphite 600T Mid-Tower Case ATX | Corsair AX750W ATX Modular 80PLUS Gold | Samsung 245T 24" LCD | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

Last edited by alclarity; January 24, 2011 at 10:38 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2011, 10:21 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,928

My System Specs

Default

If you want to watercool you could w/ with EK. Their HD69X0 blocks are quite a bit cheaper. Although they do not look near as good as the Koolance in my opinion.
EK-FC6970 Full Cover Block for HD6970 - Acetal EK-FC6970 Full Cover Block for HD6970 - Acetal [EK-FC6970 A] - $109.99 : DazMode, Canadian PC Water Cooling and Modding Store

Although I still think air cooling will be fine. Especially w/ on a single GPU.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2011, 11:35 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 12

My System Specs

Default

I'm actually looking for an air cooling solution but I guess thats not worth the money vs performance considering i dont pay enough attention to water cooling maintenance
__________________
ASUS P6X58D-E X58 ATX | Intel Core i7-970 Gulftown 3.2GHz | G.SKILL Pi 6GB 3X2GB DDR3-1600 CL6-8-6-20 | MSI Twin Frozr II GeForce GTX 470 1280MB 320-bit GDDR5 PCI E2.0 x16 | (Primary) Intel X25-M 2.5" 160GB SATA II | WD Caviar Black 1TB SATA3 6GB/S 7200RPM 64MB | Samsung SH-S223L/BEBS 22X SATA DVDRW | Corsair Graphite 600T Mid-Tower Case ATX | Corsair AX750W ATX Modular 80PLUS Gold | Samsung 245T 24" LCD | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2011, 12:00 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Houston BC
Posts: 413
Default

Cheapest route would be to download Sapphire Trixx or something similar and setup custom fan settings (free).
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2011, 02:34 PM
Prolab's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 485

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
If you want to watercool you could w/ with EK. Their HD69X0 blocks are quite a bit cheaper. Although they do not look near as good as the Koolance in my opinion.
EK-FC6970 Full Cover Block for HD6970 - Acetal EK-FC6970 Full Cover Block for HD6970 - Acetal [EK-FC6970 A] - $109.99 : DazMode, Canadian PC Water Cooling and Modding Store

Although I still think air cooling will be fine. Especially w/ on a single GPU.

I was actually thinking of getting this last night when i was ordering stuff from Daz. But, i wasnt sure if its gonna fit the 6950. Anyone tried using it on an XFX 6950 yet?
__________________

Gaming Rig:

-Swiffy MCP35x X2 & 240 Rad, (2) 480 EX XSPC Rad, Heatkiller rev. 3.0, i7 3930k @ 4.7 Ghz, 16 GB G.SKILL F3, Asus Rampage IV Extreme, XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, Crucial M4 128GB & 240 GB Intel 530, (5) 3 TB Toshiba Drive, Corsair AX1200, Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit

HTPC Rig:

-AMD 1100T, Gigabyte UD5, 16 GB G.Skill RAM, Asus 650ti Boost, 500 GB WD Black, (5) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 3 TB Toshiba HD, (1) 2 TB Samsung F4, Fractal Design R3, Antec 650 watt PS, Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2011, 03:08 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,928

My System Specs

Default

HD6950 and HD6970 share the same PCB. And XFX always uses reference. So it will fit.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2011, 10:06 PM
Prolab's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 485

My System Specs

Default

Oh ok, good to know.
__________________

Gaming Rig:

-Swiffy MCP35x X2 & 240 Rad, (2) 480 EX XSPC Rad, Heatkiller rev. 3.0, i7 3930k @ 4.7 Ghz, 16 GB G.SKILL F3, Asus Rampage IV Extreme, XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, Crucial M4 128GB & 240 GB Intel 530, (5) 3 TB Toshiba Drive, Corsair AX1200, Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit

HTPC Rig:

-AMD 1100T, Gigabyte UD5, 16 GB G.Skill RAM, Asus 650ti Boost, 500 GB WD Black, (5) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 3 TB Toshiba HD, (1) 2 TB Samsung F4, Fractal Design R3, Antec 650 watt PS, Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU PhysX Multi-core hack Bojamijams Gaming 6 September 30, 2009 11:27 AM
A really hard super mario world hack. EaGle1337 Gaming 10 January 22, 2009 10:31 PM
Michael Asher is a Hack Babrbarossa Off Topic 21 November 13, 2008 03:00 PM
New Stats Hack Gav Suggestions & Feedback 4 January 17, 2007 11:32 AM
Statistic Hack Supergrover Suggestions & Feedback 2 December 19, 2006 01:17 AM