Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2008, 12:20 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

ack, yes sorry, by "modify the cooling system" i ment water.

Just a question, but might dropping the multiplier to 8 from 9 and re adjusting the fsb again possibly help with stability? seems to me that it might cause the opposite to happen, but i'm not sure. i'm happy with the speeds i have, really happy... but i really think it'll hit 3.6 even... and i just cant let it go... if i can get 3.6 i'll call it good... probly, but i just have to get it there i really think it'll do it...eventually. i just need to learn how to rub it the right way if you know what i mean. i hope i dont fry it before getting there, but if i do... i'll have an excuse to buy a new one :D
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2008, 12:25 AM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tzetsin View Post
Just a question, but might dropping the multiplier to 8 from 9 and re adjusting the fsb again possibly help with stability? seems to me that it might cause the opposite to happen, but i'm not sure. i'm happy with the speeds i have, really happy... but i really think it'll hit 3.6 even... and i just cant let it go... if i can get 3.6 i'll call it good... probly, but i just have to get it there i really think it'll do it...eventually. i just need to learn how to rub it the right way if you know what i mean. i hope i dont fry it before getting there, but if i do... i'll have an excuse to buy a new one :D
w0000t, he's got it, he's got it! He's got the disease! Another OC freak!

Ps. Some systems like multiplier 8 better than 9 or vice versa...depends on your RAM really....Just keep trying!!!
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2008, 12:31 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

OMG i had a heart attack... fyi everyone if you mess with your multiplyer you can fool vista into thinking your running alot faster than you are. i almost died when i hit properties on my "my computer" and saw i'm running @ 4.05 ghz. cupz confirmed an even 3.6 though.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2008, 01:24 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

now i'm beggining to notice a trend, it seems that its core 3 thats stopping the show every time. is there any way to adjust settings for just that core? or slowing just that core down?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2008, 02:57 AM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

That might just be the core that is going on his coffee break.....

Did he go to Timmie or SB?? LOL....what is stopping the show....does it not perform well??
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2008, 09:15 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tzetsin View Post
ack, yes sorry, by "modify the cooling system" i ment water.

Just a question, but might dropping the multiplier to 8 from 9 and re adjusting the fsb again possibly help with stability? seems to me that it might cause the opposite to happen, but i'm not sure. i'm happy with the speeds i have, really happy... but i really think it'll hit 3.6 even... and i just cant let it go... if i can get 3.6 i'll call it good... probly, but i just have to get it there i really think it'll do it...eventually. i just need to learn how to rub it the right way if you know what i mean. i hope i dont fry it before getting there, but if i do... i'll have an excuse to buy a new one :D
Hitting 3.6 on air with a Quad is something. You should be very happy if you do.

You sure can try a 8x multi, if your Ram can handle it. You will also see a performance increase with a higher FSB.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2008, 01:05 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

When i'm using prime95 to stress test i can see that its core 3 that stops working just before blue screen, i set affinity to just 1,2 and 4, but then 4 stops and blue screens, i set affinity to just 1 and 2 and i can run stable for hours at 3.6. you think maby cores 3 and 4 are getting too much heat? incresing the vcore doesnt help at all might there be anouther reason for those two cores to fail before the first two?
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2008, 01:16 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,142
Default

What sort of temperatures are showing on each core? With Quad-cores, since they consist of two dual cores side-by-side, it's quite normal to have two cores showing higher temperatures than the other two. But if the difference is severe (say, by more than 10 degrees), maybe the cooler isn't putting even pressure on the chip? Or perhaps the thermal interface material isn't spread evenly?
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2008, 02:10 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

well i downloaded speedfan so i can see the temps of all the cores, they are all pretty close though, one thing that scares me a bit is something speedfan calls AUX, its sitting at 122C an i dont have a clue what could be running that hot in there except maby the PSU?? i was thinking though about what you said, two dual cores side by side? perhaps the max speed for the one is lower than the other on this chip. just seems i cant break this barrier not even one more point on the fsb. i've got my ram locked at default timings, and 1:1, with 2.2v, the pci is locked at 100 turned off all the extra stuff on the cpu (wich seemed to lower the temps btw) ive added voltages up to 1.42 to the vcore, and i've tried a 1.4 v to the NB. Also i've dropped the multiplyer to 8, brought the fsb up and still nothing breaks 3524.... how hard is it to install water?
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2008, 02:56 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

Don't worry, Speedfan's Aux. Temperature sensor @ 122C is a known bug. Use Coretemp instead, the latest version shows all 4 cores: Core Temp. Have you tried 1.45V? If your temps are still below 60C under load (any core), you still good to go! NB volts are used to stabilise both high-FSB oc'ing and Ram (especially 4x1Gb sticks).

Water-cooling is not really difficult. Ity may help you reach a higher FSB, but not that much. Air cooling is very efficient; water-cooling will help you when a chip is running really hot, when you want to bench at very high VCore and when you wish to lower the noise generated by an Air cooler. The water-cooling fans are usually quieter.

I still think you have one heck of a chip in your hands, and you're not missing much to reach your goal.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking my BFG8800GT dtownbrown Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 10 March 9, 2008 11:32 AM
Overclocking 2900XT Varroa Video Cards 1 February 25, 2008 05:27 PM
Overclocking P4 1.8 Kassela Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 1 December 27, 2007 11:28 AM
Need help overclocking further Kessler Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 15 December 5, 2007 05:09 PM
Need some help on Overclocking ShinseiKen CPU's and Motherboards 10 July 11, 2007 07:41 PM