Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2008, 06:34 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal, Qc
Posts: 111

My System Specs

Default New system, first OC results

I finally got my new system yesterday (ordered from NCIX on Dec 8th *cough*).

This is my first "high-end" system and also the first time I'm attempting any serious oc'ing.

Intel Core 2 Duo e6750
Asus P5K-E/WI-FI
Crucial Ballistix 8500 2x1GB
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme with 2xScythe fans and Shin-Etsu goop

Here's what I got after a few hours of testing...



I got a few questions for all the experienced overclockers on here. I've set the CPU voltage at 1.41v in the BIOS (although cpu-z reports 1.392). Is that too high to run 24/7? I could boot with 3.8Ghz, but after about 20 mins Orthos gave me a checksum error and I didn't dare set the voltage any higher. What kind of margin are we talking about here? What's the maximum "safe" value?

Also, at Anandtech they had their cpu running at 3.9Ghz and 47C under full load with the same heatsink and case. My core temp is way higher, it hovers between 54C and 56C. Is this normal, or maybe I didn't install the heatsink properly? I think I might have put too much goop on there.

You guys think I could get this to run at 3.8Ghz 24/7? It seems like such a nice round number, I hate that 3.73Ghz crap.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2008, 06:46 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,136
Default

First issue is your temperatures. 65 degrees at load is a good cut-off, so you've got some headroom still. If you haven't done so already, pop the heatsink and double-check how the TIM is spreading. Too much can be just as bad as not enough.

Voltages: You're definitely okay up to 1.45 Vcore. Give it a few more ticks and I wouldn't be surprised if that gets you what you want. Just watch your temperatures as you do. Don't trust software voltage reports, BIOS or multimeter only.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2008, 06:48 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,231

My System Specs

Default

That's a pretty sweet "first" OC!!!!

To the question of temps.... I'd say do some benching where you are stable and record the temps, then re-mount your HSF and have a look at your temps again. (If I remember correctly that TIM requires a bit of cure time).

As far as "safe" volts go..... that's based more on temps than anything else, and only you can decided what too much is.....

If it were me.... I'd keep going until TAT load temps hit a max of 60C (you're getting close to that now), but I suspect that most folks with a newer C2D would draw the line around 1.5V.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2008, 08:37 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal, Qc
Posts: 111

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MpG View Post
Voltages: You're definitely okay up to 1.45 Vcore. Give it a few more ticks and I wouldn't be surprised if that gets you what you want. Just watch your temperatures as you do. Don't trust software voltage reports, BIOS or multimeter only.
Thanks, that's reassuring. I bumped it to 1.45v and it did the trick. I tried 1.425 first, but I still got an Orthos error so I had to bump it some more.



Woo! 3.8Ghz.

System was stable after 1 hour Orthos, though I'll probably leave it on when I go to bed to make sure I don't get a fluke error. Also running the RAM at 1:1 (950Mhz) at 4-4-4-12 timing, same rating as 800Mhz.

Gives me a 12444 score in 3DMark06, I'm happy for now. I guess I'll find time this week to OC my 8800GT as well. Thanks for the help!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2008, 09:26 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

3.8GHz Nice first OC. What case are you using?

I might want to create a sig with your rigs specs.
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2008, 10:17 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal, Qc
Posts: 111

My System Specs

Default

I just updated my sig, now that I have something better than an AMD 2800+ to put in it.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2008, 11:37 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,901

My System Specs

Default

nice overclock there.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2008, 12:00 AM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

WOW..that just makes me sick! Hahahaha....my E6850...does not want to run any faster than 3.6GHz.....which it does well btw.... but I've gone all the way up to 1.55V !! Your temps are awesome and let me just say it once again...never trust CPU-Z on the core voltages! And one more thing...How did you get the multi @ 8 ??? Mine absolutely does not want to run on anything else but 9 and as far as I know these new E6x50 sereis were locked on 9?
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2008, 07:57 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal, Qc
Posts: 111

My System Specs

Default

Well, the 8 multi is the default for the 6750, so it wasn't a big accomplishment on my part.

From what I could find before I bought the cpu, the 6550 has a max multi of 7, the 7750 is 8 and the 6850 has a max of 9. I specifically bought the 7750 instead of the 6550 because of the 8 multi. I'd have bought a 6850 if they were cheap, but at $120 more, the extra x1 multi wasn't worth *that* much to me. At 7 with a 6550, you need truly insane bus speeds to get high OCs.

My cpu doesn't seem to mind lower multis though. For example the speedstep thingie often lowers my multi to 6 and the computer remains stable. I didn't know that cpus could have problems being *underclocked*.

I guess I was lucky with that cpu, especially with people complaining that newer cpus are harder to OC. I wonder if it could go higher with water cooling, but it's quite a hefty price tag to find out so I think I'll stay with air for now.

So my temps are good? I thought they were quite a bit higher than most other people with ultra 120s. I didn't bother to remove the heatsink yet to check my goop spread, it's such a hassle...
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2008, 09:24 AM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,835
Default its a great combo

The P5KE and the E6750 work well together!!

I have a E6750 at 3.4 with only 1.25 volts on that board and it runs orthos stable 3.6
with 1.35volts.

BTW seems like the newer 6750 (made in the last few months) are getting very good results. Also for stability setting the NB to 1.4v and CPU PLL to 1.5v helped, (FSB termination voltage is on auto but should set it manually).
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.

Last edited by magictorch; January 5, 2008 at 09:43 AM. Reason: extra
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HWBot Results: Prof. Dr. Silver Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 7 May 6, 2008 09:15 PM
G0 vs B3 X3210 results Cptn Vortex Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 October 21, 2007 03:40 PM
oc results so far Jim CPU's and Motherboards 7 July 25, 2007 12:52 PM
Penryn Performance results Babrbarossa CPU's and Motherboards 3 April 19, 2007 07:10 AM
6000+ overclocking results Misoprostol CPU's and Motherboards 11 April 9, 2007 12:27 PM