Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2010, 11:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 18

My System Specs

Red face Overclocking help please

OK guys
fun with overclocking by a newb.

as my specs tab says, I have a Phenom II X3 740 on an Asus Crosshair IV Formula board.
RAM is GSkill DDR3-10700. Multi down to 12.5 from 15. Vcore 1.44 @43deg; Vcpu/nb 1.32@42deg; Vdram 1.61. (running prime as i write)

#1. FSB:DRAM. originally 3:8 now 1:2. no idea how I managed to changed that. However it seems to be a good thing because FSB is now at 280MHz for 4 cores (i got 280MHz on 3 so figured 'why not 4?').

(UPDATE changed fsb to 285MHz since no immediate crash and temps OK. RAM is now 571MHz i.e 1710? edit 1140Mhz thx headshot)

Current memory freq. is 560MHz which means the RAM is running at ~1680Mhz (edit 1120MHz thx headshot) right? DDR3*560 ?
At one point i was seeing 740MHz for the RAM? WTF is that possible? Or am I being newbish?

How do I change the fsb:dram ratio?

Last edited by Stubby; December 28, 2010 at 02:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2010, 12:04 AM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

No it is not *3, it is Double Data Rate (DDR), so 560mhz would be 1120.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2010, 12:11 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 18

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by headsh0t View Post
No it is not *3, it is Double Data Rate (DDR), so 560mhz would be 1120.
doh generation 3 of double data rate RAM

PS what happened to winners of day 13-24 of the contest?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2010, 02:35 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 18

My System Specs

Default

STUPID AMD Overdrive.
I can't adjust the multiplier higher than the setting in BIOS.
It doesn't see the proper temperatures
It doesn't see the proper fans.
It doesn't see the GPU.
but it does log.

PC Probe see the voltages and fans but can't change anything or log.

GREAT JOB Asus!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2010, 03:45 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: 44N by 79W
Posts: 360
Default

You should be overclocking in BIOS anyway, its a little more work but the software OC are never as good.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2010, 08:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 18

My System Specs

Default

well
as before I am stimied by the 3.6GHZ barrier i am hitting.
200x18 (3.6GHz) = ok
200x18.5 (3.7GHz) = not (windows won't load)
280x13 (3.64GHz) = ok
280x13.5 (3.78GHz)=not
333x11 (3.66GHz)= ok ( i managed to get this FSB by first dropping the CPU multiplier to 10 and and the HT/NB multipliers to 7)(stable prime95 for 6hrs)
333x11.5 = not ( i get as for as the windows desktop before it crashes)

temperatures hover around 40C for the 3 cores of the Phenom II x3 740 during prime95.
HT and NB @ 1998MHz
RAM @ 1333Mhz (1:2 ratio)
CPU 1.45v
CPU/NB 1.3v
NB 1.22v
SB 1.22v
DRAM 1.6v

not matter where I push 3.6 GHz is the wall. Is it advisable to up the voltage any higher. Or is there something else to try?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2010, 10:06 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,583
Default

you can knock up that northbridge and southbridge a good 0.15V higher.. CPU is kinda maxed out, you could try 1.5v for a while for giggles. CPU/NB can be boosted a bit too.

but you might just have a wall too.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First time doing SLI, some questions Musabi Video Cards 5 April 21, 2010 01:46 PM
I've realized I'm network dumb! biff Networking 17 February 25, 2010 12:39 AM
ok this takes dumb to a new level gingerbee Off Topic 12 September 5, 2009 05:59 AM
Dumb question... Dr_BenD_over O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 April 22, 2009 05:14 PM
Dumb Question Jesterhead Networking 2 December 6, 2008 11:55 AM