Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2010, 02:00 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 12
Default Q9400 overclock with asus p5ql pro

Ok I made this easy for everyone, first time overclocking. I went to the bios and copied everything for the AI tweaker.

AI overclock tuner [auto]
FSB strap to northbridge [auto]
DRAM frequency [auto]
DRAM timing [auto]
1st information: 6-6-6-18-3-46-6-3
2nd information: 8-3-6-4-6-4-7
3rd information: 15-5-1-7-7
DRAM static reader control [auto]
DRAm read traingin [auto]
MEM OC chrager [auto]
Ai clock twister [auto]
Ai transaction booster [auto]

C/P : A1 A2 A3 A4 A5 | B1 B2 B3 B4 B5
LVL: 11 11 11 11 11 | 11 11 11 11 11
*******please key in numbers directly********
CPU votalge [auto]
FSB termination voltage [auto]
Memory voltage [auto]
Northbridge voltage [auto]
Southbridge voltage [auto]
**********************
Load line calibration [auto]
CPU GTL refrence [auto]
CPU spread spectrum [auto]
PCIE spread spectrum [auto]
Cpu clock skew [auto]
NB clock skew [auto]
CPU marging [optimized]


I have 4 gb ocz ram


quad core q9400 stock clock 2.66 ghz (333x8)

coolermaster hyper101i dual fan.

ocz 700 watt power supply.

when running intel burn test max ,voltage is at 1.1280 V but sometimes it jumps to 1.152 for like 1 sec.

My goal is 3.00 ghz and than 3.2 gghz.

All I know right now is too change the.

FSB frequence to 375.

What else? what do set to cpu voltage at.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2010, 08:55 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

hey dude. welcome aboard.


drop the ram multi, then up the fsb slowly. 3.2 should be easy, perhaps with a small bump in voltage.



DRAM frequency [manual]
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2010, 09:42 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 12
Default

I overclocked it to 3 ghz 375x8. Did the stress test with intelburntest for 949 sec (30 times), didnt crash.

CPU-Z shows rated FSB at 1500 mhz, is that safe?

1.275 volts.

should i go and change the dram frequency?

do you think I could achieve 3.2 ghz with same voltages?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2010, 10:38 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

good. for stability i use prime+3dmark looping.

if nothing goes bad youre good.

dont worry

yes, try to take the ram out the equation first, oc that too later

more or less. those figures are nothing scary, dont worry. keep your temps in check and youll be fine

now, not two chips overclock the same,close yes so one can generalise :)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2010, 08:02 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 12
Default

I ran a stresstest with prim95 for 8 hours, and it passed no errors. My ram is overclocked to 960 mhz should a worry about the voltages?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hit OC wall on Q9400 & P5QL Pro Skychan CPU's and Motherboards 7 October 31, 2010 11:50 AM
Need help with overclock [core i5 750 + asus p7p55d-e pro] siphor1987 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 June 6, 2010 02:13 AM
P5Q pro turbo & Q9400 OC questions RMA'd Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 2 March 1, 2010 06:27 AM
[FS] E8400 E0, P5QL-Pro, DDR2 Kingston 4 gb Ram flightsimnerd Buy/Sell & Trade 28 February 8, 2010 06:29 PM
Guides for Overclocking E8400 w P5QL Pro mb inf3kt Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 18 November 11, 2008 02:15 PM