Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #101 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2012, 02:19 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 652

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Does physX play much of a role in 3Dmark scores? I'm wondering if it'd be worth throwing a GTS 450 in beside the SLI'd 560 ti cards just for physX......
It does SSwilson, specially the older 3dmarkvantage. For example, a gtx460 1gig will outscore a 5870 in a total score with everything else the same.
Reply With Quote
  #102 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2012, 04:35 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,806

My System Specs

Default

I'm pretty sure the PhysX portion will result in a higher PhysX score utilizing your 560ti SLi vs dedicating PhysX to that single GTS450, if you try it my guess is you'll wind up with a "lower" Score.
Reply With Quote
  #103 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2012, 05:01 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,227

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
I'm pretty sure the PhysX portion will result in a higher PhysX score utilizing your 560ti SLi vs dedicating PhysX to that single GTS450, if you try it my guess is you'll wind up with a "lower" Score.
That's what I'm wondering... is the physx test stand-alone (which would then suggest that a 560ti would do better), or would it benefit from being able to use SLI'd cards to their fullest while allowing a lower end card to do PhysX duties?

I'm off to Ottawa for a week or so... if I don't find anything definitive on the internets, I'll probably try to give it a shot when I get back, but then again... I'm pretty sure that my slots drop down to 1X if I"m using two cards in SLI...
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #104 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2012, 05:37 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

well i am happy i seem to be a little low on the gpu score and that's 2 zotac 560 ti 448 cores
Attached Images
   
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #105 (permalink)  
Old February 5, 2012, 10:17 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,806

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
That's what I'm wondering... is the physx test stand-alone (which would then suggest that a 560ti would do better), or would it benefit from being able to use SLI'd cards to their fullest while allowing a lower end card to do PhysX duties?

I'm off to Ottawa for a week or so... if I don't find anything definitive on the internets, I'll probably try to give it a shot when I get back, but then again... I'm pretty sure that my slots drop down to 1X if I"m using two cards in SLI...
I know of a few folks over at Evga Forums that have tried exactly what your suggesting and the results were always a lower Score when trying to use a Dedicated PhysX Card.
Reply With Quote
  #106 (permalink)  
Old February 7, 2012, 11:35 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 644

My System Specs

Default

http://3dmark.com/3dm11/2715353

My first run of 3d mark 11 ever. I'm thinking about creating a benchboot with a fresh optimized install.
Reply With Quote
  #107 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2012, 09:05 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 104

My System Specs

Default

This is the first benchmark with the new 7950 but for some reason this seems a bit low to me...am I wrong?

Generic VGA video card benchmark result - Intel Core i7-920 Processor,Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. EX58-UD5 score: P7176 3DMarks
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #108 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2012, 10:12 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 600

My System Specs

Default

Hmm, I dunno how much slower than 7950 is vs the 7970, but my XFX BEDD 7970 scored 9400 on stock clocks (1GHz) and 9800 with my mild overclock
Reply With Quote
  #109 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2012, 11:10 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 9

My System Specs

Default

AMD Radeon HD 7970 video card benchmark result - Intel Core i7-3930K Processor,ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. RAMPAGE IV EXTREME score: P16532 3DMarks

Last edited by rkim86; February 9, 2012 at 04:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #110 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2012, 09:20 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,806

My System Specs

Default

^^^^ Great X58 vs X79 compare Score !!! Older Tech vs Newest Tech
X79 P16.5K vs X58 P14K (both newest GPU's - Green vs Red)....love it!!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3DMark 06 & Vantage scores Jonwall Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 203 March 14, 2014 05:55 PM
Google CEO says online anonymity is "dangerous" [The Huffington Post] sswilson Reviews & Articles from the Web 4 August 12, 2010 07:29 AM
Top Gear Rocket Robin High Scores ipaine Off Topic 14 August 5, 2010 07:36 PM
Team Fortress 2 Scores!!! Airshehan Gaming 9 August 4, 2009 09:26 AM
Curious about Vantage scores kragnorok Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 10 May 17, 2009 11:59 AM