Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2010, 01:18 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7

My System Specs

Exclamation Asus Warranty

Will overclocking my Asus ENGTX 460 TOP card void the warranty?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2010, 01:29 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

How will they tell if you ship it back to them at stock speed ?
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2010, 01:43 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 271

My System Specs

Default

The card will always remain at stock speed unless you mess around with the bios.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2010, 02:31 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7

My System Specs

Default

Hmm, that was part of my question. Is overclocking allowed by Asus? if it isnt, and lets say I still decided to overclock it, but then it died, and I changed it back to stock speeds, is there a way for them to check the bios or something and see if I overclocked? Because I really want to overclock but i don't want to lose my warranty.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2010, 02:50 PM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

If you software overclock it, the bios wont be affected. So no, they wont know it. A gpu dying becasue of software oveclock is really rare.
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2010, 02:56 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7

My System Specs

Default

Now we are getting somewhere, but still my main question remains! Does Asus allow overclocking? Will it void the warranty?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2010, 03:24 PM
CroSsFiRe2009's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,111

My System Specs

Default

Nowhere does it say that overclocking is allowed or disallowed. Overclocking through software makes no permanent changes to the card and the settings are not stored on the card anywhere so they will never know if you OC'd or not. Your warranty will still be valid as long as you stick to overclocking through software.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2010, 03:31 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7

My System Specs

Default

Aha, thank you. That is the answer i was waiting for. Thank you everybody who has helped me and now I can overclock :D!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2010, 04:02 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 51
Default

Asus should allow overclocking as they have that asus smart doctor that's designed to help you overclock your card. Also things like turboV Evo are also designed for you to overclock.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2010, 04:10 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canaduh
Posts: 376

My System Specs

Default

+ they use the overclocking ability of their hardware as a selling point
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
asus , gtx 460 , overclocking , warranty

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus Video Card Warranty Kommie986 Video Cards 3 July 23, 2010 10:28 PM
XFX warranty help clone63 Off Topic 6 June 30, 2009 11:48 PM
[FS] Asus X48 Board P5E-Deluxe with Warranty qaz393 Buy/Sell & Trade 17 May 19, 2009 10:24 AM
ESD and warranty HalifaxJ New Builds 6 March 11, 2009 08:01 AM
This may have voided the warranty Dr_BenD_over Air Cooling 14 October 3, 2008 01:37 PM