Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2010, 07:50 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,579

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
Yeah I agree that most folks seem to get 4.0 best by using 21x190 (its what I used for that chip on my old board), but when I had that prime worker threads would get error after about 10 mins or so. Going with 20x200 got me from 10mins to about 7 hours, so I kept it. The Rampage is supposed to have good bclk, so that was why I tried it.
No chris, I was refering to using 19 x 210 as i seem to find that runs a hell of a lot more stable and require less voltage.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2010, 07:57 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
No chris, I was refering to using 19 x 210 as i seem to find that runs a hell of a lot more stable and require less voltage.
My ram is rated at 1600...would I have to OC the ram to get 210 BCLK?
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2010, 08:04 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,579

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
My ram is rated at 1600...would I have to OC the ram to get 210 BCLK?
My ram is rated for that as well, i just run it at 1.64 (can't run 1.65 on my mobo) with it barely overclocked (1680 due to changing the ram multiplier). I think your ram should be able to handle that very minor overclock to it as at least mine has no issues with it.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2010, 08:15 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,482

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
My ram is rated for that as well, i just run it at 1.64 (can't run 1.65 on my mobo) with it barely overclocked (1680 due to changing the ram multiplier). I think your ram should be able to handle that very minor overclock to it as at least mine has no issues with it.
even more so if you loosen the timings up to 8-8-8.

And to expand on Sams point, I know it took me weeks to figure out that my rig was more stable at 190x22 then it was at 200x20. But I guess this really doesnt make you feel better about the difference between the P6T and the Rampage...

Maybe the P6T has better regulation, and thats why you've had to change the voltage? Who knows...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old December 22, 2010, 10:30 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kriegs-Maschine View Post
bahh folder
You must have something to sell??? Lots of 'cool', 'bahh' posts etc etc.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2011, 11:57 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,217

My System Specs

Default

I know that 1.4v for the CPU voltage is getting into the danger zone (for i7). Anything below the 1.4v is usually considered to have minimal impact on the life of your chip (unless you want to keep the chip for 5 years). Obviously 1.65 is maximum for your RAM... Although some people have pushed that limit a tiny bit, others have destroyed their very expensive stuff by over-volting RAM past that limit. I hope I'm not repeating too much, but I will re-iterate that a higher bclk with lower multiplier will provide lower temps and usually lower voltage requirements.

Also, you can download a program from the standford F@H page that does a stress test based on F@H FP calcs to use instead of PRIME if you want. Really though, you will get 5x better folding and PPD results by buying a GT 430 for $70 and using that to fold (unless you're already running 4-way). Also, make sure you leave HyperThreading enabled as that increases your PPD by more than any potential o/c from disabling that feature.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2011, 09:57 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Alberta
Posts: 261

My System Specs

Default

Just as a comparitive reference for you Chris, 24/7 folding on my I7 with stock cooling

Asus Probe II values at ambient 19C
BLCk /Multi 175.5 x 24 = 4284 MHz
QPI Link 3213.1
Dram Frequency 892.5 with 6 sticks.
NB 3570 Mhz


1.36 CPU Vcore 66C @100%
1.40 CPU PLL
1.36 QPI/Dram
1.65 Dram Bus 34C
1.11 ICH 50C
1.11 IOH 47C

1.8 CPU PLL seems to drive the ICH temps high if you leave that voltage setting at "Auto"
__________________
Code:
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2011, 10:15 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Running 970s with core at 1.29 one rig, 1.3 on the other. Set the vdimm manually, and 1.35 qpi volts on both. Left the rest at auto, LLC enabled.

Getting max temps at high 50s folding right now, and mobo temps max at low 60s. I have seen low 60s on the cpu cores while using prime.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Folding @ Home F.A.Q. Supergrover HardwareCanucks F@H Team 229 May 15, 2010 08:24 PM
Folding@home with WHS p3t3rson HardwareCanucks F@H Team 8 February 10, 2010 05:07 AM
Folding@home electricity use Perineum HardwareCanucks F@H Team 103 November 13, 2009 01:17 PM
Folding at home questions slisgrinder HardwareCanucks F@H Team 7 April 16, 2009 05:12 PM
Is my O/C (temps and volts) safe for 24/7 folding? divertiti Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 10 January 5, 2009 06:45 PM