Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 28, 2010, 08:34 PM
Top Prospect

My System Specs

Arrow My Build First OC

I am new around here, love all the knowledge all the members share. I want to just post my current configuration and see if there is some where I can pick up more performance. Just a bit of info this is my first build, I have always tinkered with computers but just never had the guts to go from case to wiring.

My complete specs and current setup are below, before I overclocked anything I did lot's of research to learn what each setting and component did. There is still some thing's that I don't understand hence the post. I am still not all comfortable adjusting voltage so if you notice below most if not all are set to auto under the voltage. Though with the board I have listed the voltage it says it was running at, I took the higher number as it was changing as I writing it down. Ok enough with this I don't want to make this a long winded post.

I have attached various images from cpu-z, afterburner and amd overdrive just to give an idea of configuration a bit more. I am just seeing if it's worth my time to look into overclocking the memory. I tightened the timings a while back 7-7-7-20 I believe it was but I honestly had no idea what I was doing so I put it back. In the process I noticed my ram was running slower then it should be.

I never adjusted the HT Link or NB as I was not really sure if there was any performance to be gained. Also I have flurted with adjusting my gpu, but it is already overclocked out of the box. And also the overclocks I have seen show the voltage going +200 on the volts and mine only goes to 100. Get real nervous adjusting volts when I am not quiet sure if it was help or hurt it.