Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2010, 09:17 PM
Ash's Avatar
Ash Ash is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 52

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the tips, I tried one step below 1.

UPDATE: Crashed at 1.3875, was running @ 1.4 so the auto setting on this board might be decent. I changed it to 1.425 just to see how it affects the temps. Seems to go up to as high as 66 so far. Too high for my liking think I will end up at 1.4 or just below it not by much.

Hopefully my other volts look fine and hold up. Everything seems stable pending it passes this stress test ok. I don't think I am gonna squeeze too much more out of it. May move onto memory next but I am not sure if I can squeeze much out of the stuff I have. I am going to get 4 more gigs of it, weird thing is same model # and everything but the timings are off by 1. It's currently running at 823.

Last edited by Ash; November 29, 2010 at 09:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2010, 09:49 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

usually the more ram the harder to clock. 4 gigs are enough, save like mr martin always says loading up virtual environments :)
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2010, 09:53 PM
Ash's Avatar
Ash Ash is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 52

My System Specs

Default

Yeah I am not even sure I am going to overclock the ram, not sure how much is to really gain there. Not looked into it enough yet.
I know with the changes made today my score with 3dmark went from 11000 to 17000, moving in the right direction anyways.

Still debating if adding more ram is going to be what I want. Going to pick up a green caviar 2TB hopefully that helps with boot times.
Drive is 5 yrs old, it doesn't take long but always looking for speed.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2010, 11:00 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

right. but the caviar green wont be too fast for an os drive. its made for puters that dont necessarily are used to perform a lot of consecutive tasks or rather its more like an ideal storage drive,so far.

get an f3 or black for os. or ssd. pricey though
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2010, 11:09 PM
Ash's Avatar
Ash Ash is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 52

My System Specs

Default

So would in your opinion the drive be a waste of money? I was thinking memory, new case, hdd. But if it's not really going to help me with things in the sense of the HDD loading quicker on boot then I am not really interested in blowing $100 on it. I honestly really don't need the speed, I just figued the drive was 5 yrs old and they might be more efficient. Hince when I built the system I did not replace the drive.

I was looking at picking up the Haf 932 Black Edition, I didn't have clearance in my case now my antec gamer for my side fan and my v8 heat sink. So I had to remove the side fan and remove the plastic insert thus making the mesh weak. I wanted to get full tower, but maybe my money is better spent elsewhere.

Where would you suggest if I was going to do an upgrade should I do it. I want the money spent efficiently. I don't need a new case either really.

I think to get the speed I want I will need SSD, but they need to come down alot before I buy one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
right. but the caviar green wont be too fast for an os drive. its made for puters that dont necessarily are used to perform a lot of consecutive tasks or rather its more like an ideal storage drive,so far.

get an f3 or black for os. or ssd. pricey though
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2010, 11:12 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

more ram could limit your OC. My CPU for exemple can't reach 4Ghz with 8GB but with 4GB I can...also, 66 celcius is so damn fine XD my 860 is running 24/7 from 75 to 80. CPU are build strong, they can tolerate such temp.

Lol dan I am mr. now :P I'm only 21 cmon

And for the HDD, caviar green are not that fast. Concider maybe using the money you save on the ram and getting a small SSD using your other drive as a storage drive or a 2tb black which are good and decently fast.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2010, 11:19 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

not if you need the space for cheap.

haf 922 at 80 bucks, or 912 at 50-60. the 932 is way overpriced.

list all the parts again plz, well see.

if its just for os and such a 40 giger can be had cheaper than before, but the moment you start loading apps on it itll fill quickly. and 120 gigers bug me off for prices :D



@ marty : yes sir. behave like one and you shall earn respect :)
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2010, 11:22 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

I think me and dan forget something before telling you to got a ssd or this drive instead of this one. What is your main use of the computer?
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2010, 11:34 PM
Ash's Avatar
Ash Ash is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 52

My System Specs

Default

Hopefully I don't miss any of the questions.

My main use for the pc is strickly to play games such as COD, I play a few racing games also. I only run one monitor, I have not delved into 3 screens yet.
I use photoshop alot, I don't do much in the line of heavy editing for video and such. Just like to have a fast computer with very low wait times. I like everything
to be instant, and I have accomplished alot of this with the overclocking. Something I know maybe 10% of what is out there for knowledge, so some of my questions
defiantly are newb.

I wish my gamer would do but I don't have as much airflow as I should. Tomorrow I am going to tackle cable management, but I have big hands and that is a small case.

My goal at this point is just where is my money best spent, If I buy more memory I don't want it to slow me down. Don't want to be counter productive.

I may go back up on my clock I thought 66 was high because they rated it at 58-62. I was making headroom before I bumped down the settings to get it a more stable temp I thought.

My Specs are as follows:

Case: Antec 900 Gamer
CPU : AMD 955 Quad Overclocked 3.93
GPU : MSI 460GTX Hawk 1GB
Mem: 4GB DDR 3 Dual 1600 CMX4GX3M2A1600C8
Mob: Asus M4A89GTD Pro
HDD: 250GB Maxtor 7200
Mon: Samsung P2350
PSU: Cooler master 1000W Modular
Cooler: Cooler master V8
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2010, 11:45 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Ok then the best thing I suggest is getting a small SSD 40 to 64GB for the OS and maybe 1 or 2 game or software ( the most commonly used one ) and a Caviar black 640GB or Samsung F1 1tb for the other software + storage. These 2 disk are some of the fastest SATA2 drive. I actually use a 640 black as my OS drive and it's quite fast compared to a caviar green or older drive. With that, your boot time will be fast and on a fast HDD your loading time will be dead decent. The case is a bit old but fine. It's only because it's a pain to work in but cooling is nice so I would keep it and maybe look into good deal over time and get one you love once it get at discout price ;)
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To build, or not to build: that is the question Timid newbe New Builds 5 August 12, 2010 05:33 AM
New Build- Corsair 800D --> My cleanest build ever. Watercooled btdvox Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 28 May 11, 2010 02:07 PM
Windows 7 Build 7000 VS Windows XP SP3 Build 2600 Benchmarks Veritas Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 March 3, 2009 02:48 PM
Critique my gaming build build 1080p New Builds 10 January 14, 2009 04:18 PM