Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 02:03 PM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default Pentium D 940 first time OC

Well I've been messing around with this today. I finally got thermal paste and it lowered my cpu temp by about 20 degrees Celsius. So I'm using the Pentium D 940 with the stock cooler on a G31M-ES2L. So far I've been able to get to 3.9 ghz 25 idle and 56 full Load. How far Should I be able to push this? What would be the thermal threshold? I'm thinking 75 degrees.
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 02:14 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

if those temps are real, then you may go another 5-6. but are you sure the board will hold up?

i would be scared to oc a pentium d on that one
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 02:19 PM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

Well I haven't upped the voltage yet, Also since the ram is now at 1000, (default 800) should I lower it back down to 800. It seems to be going up with the overclock, or maybe that's the fsb this bios is a bit hard to read.

Edit : just booted at 4.2ghz and the voltage is still at 1.35v EDIT: nvm it locked


EDIT SQUARED: it's the ram defiantly. Also what is the risk if I haven't upped any voltages? aside from heat?
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 02:24 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

good. yes try to put it on a lower divider.

if you leave the oc on auto, it should up voltages by itself, if memory doesnt fail me.


direct decent airflow around the socket area. and pray,pray hard on your knees :D
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 02:26 PM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

Lol i'm praying all right! Alright then. I assume you mean the memory, would it also be a good idea to lower the cpu multiplier and increase the frequency?

EDIT: also turned the voltage to manual.
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 02:36 PM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

alright so at 4.08 ghz with voltage set to auto it flips between 1.328 and 1.344 the default voltage is 1.3125. I hope that isn't extremely high. The temps are still hovering around 53-56 on load. The motherboard temp sensor is at 55 degrees.


So here is my analysis. The cpu at default setting with auto voltage runs at 3.4ghz 1.184-1.3 42 degrees load. The ram runs at 800 1.8v. @4ghz the cpu runs at 1.328-1.368 and the ram runs at 980mhz 1.8v. What I don't understand is on speedfan it says 1.9 for Vcore2 even on default.
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX

Last edited by andynerd; November 17, 2010 at 02:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 03:18 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

well, what i would do is first things first undervolt it and then see what it gives. best long term solution with a hot cpu like that

and yeah, put memory on a lower divider, if it runs at 800 or lower no one cares. cpu speed is king usually
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 04:59 PM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

Any reason why even though I've manually set the voltage to higher then 1.3 it won't even go past 1.269? And why does it drop under load?
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 05:04 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

its a bios thingie. watch it because itll jump on you and bite you i nthe rear hehe. no seriously, youll give it juice and give and then boom, it jumps from 1.25 to 1.4 or something.

the board cant handle it. its a weak one, designed for low power cpus.

now, having said that, ive built a ton of computers with it, never an issue.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2010, 05:11 PM
andynerd's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 365
Default

Even at the core voltage max specified by intel at 1.33 it doesn't hold stable at 4ghz. Is there any risk on the cpu aside from heat when raising the voltage? Because there is a lot of thermal headroom still.
__________________
"let the geek be with you"
Specs: Asus G74SX
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i7 940 help VDubbAz Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 July 10, 2010 09:36 PM
i7 940 Worth? redwagon Off Topic 2 October 27, 2009 06:53 PM
[WTB] blue ray movies ( will be updated with more from time to time) kyle_L Buy/Sell & Trade 3 September 2, 2009 04:20 AM
955 or 940? upcoast604 CPU's and Motherboards 10 May 7, 2009 03:22 PM
Pentium Lives!! Pentium E2160 and Pentium E2140 Babrbarossa CPU's and Motherboards 4 June 4, 2007 04:25 AM