Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2010, 01:12 PM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 631

My System Specs

Default GPU's have different clocks at idle using Afterburner ???

I have my 2 x 5870s set to 1000 / 1350 right now using Afterburner. Both are flashed to the same ASUS bios. I seem to have a weird problem though.

According to Afterburner, at Idle, GPU2 sits at 400 / 1350 just like it should. But GPU1 idles at 850 / 1200.

Then, as soon as I open GPUZ, Afterburner shows 400 / 1350 for both cards, and with GPUZ open Afterburner changes its readings on GPU1 and shows 400 / 1350 and stays that way for about 10 seconds before reverting back to 850 / 1200.... In a game, everything is just fine @ 1000 / 1350.

Is Afterburner (version 2.0.0) showing the wrong numbers? Or is it actually screwing with my clocks?

ALSO, in the information tab, Afterburner shows GPU1 as being the Master, but GPU2 runs a bit hotter and if I run something like Kombustor, it's GPU2 that is being used and NOT GPU1. Seems weird to me...?

Here you can see where my clocks have changed just from opening and closing GPUZ



Any OC / Xfire experts have any ideas or answers for me? This is my first time running Xfire.

Thanks

Last edited by dustin1706; November 16, 2010 at 01:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2010, 02:23 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canaduh
Posts: 376

My System Specs

Default

hum let me guess

450 is idle
850 is 2d
1000 is 3d

when you open gpuz you trigger 2d clocks, i gues if you stay idle for long enough it would drop back to 450

my 295 was doing the same thing, only one gpu was going into low clock

idk if it makes sense
IMO a bios clock edit would make the powerplay more efficient since the gpu bios is not aware of the overclock made by AFB.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2010, 03:14 PM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 631

My System Specs

Default

MKultra... You were completely right. My last card was an 8800GTX and it didn't switch from 2d to 3d. (dunce cap smiley)

I just setup the stock clocks for 2d and my OC for 3d in Afterburner profiles. Now I get:
Idle: 157 / 300 .949v
2d: 850 / 1200 1.16v
3d: 1000 / 1300 1.3v

Perfect! Thanks!

I am still curious though, as to why GPU1 is shown as the master, but in apps that don't utilize 2 gpus, GPU2 does all the work?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MSI afterburner Overvolt martin_metal_88 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 17 September 26, 2010 02:58 PM
67C on GPU. 35C on CPU @ Idle consid3r Troubleshooting 2 April 1, 2010 10:56 AM
Forcing 3D clocks on 4890 Supergrover Video Cards 2 November 11, 2009 01:28 PM
MSI Afterburner?? sswilson Video Cards 0 October 20, 2009 12:20 PM
cant overclock shader clocks magictorch Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 2 February 29, 2008 07:29 AM