Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2010, 06:25 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 531
Default Intel LGA1155 i7 2600K w/ Biostar P67 achieve 5GHz Air cooling

CPU
Intel Core i7-2600K
32nm, 4C8T


MB BIOSTAR TP67XE
Chipest Sandy Bridge - Cougar point




DDR3
CORSAIR DOMINATOR-GTX3 DDR3-2400


CL9 11-9-27 1.65V



System Configuration
CPU: Intel Core i7-2600K
MB: BIOSTAR TP67XE
DRAM: CORSAIR DOMINATOR-GTX3 DDR3-2400
VGA: GIGABYTE GTX260 OC
HD: CORSAIR CSSD-F40GB2 Raid 0
POWER: Antec TPQ-1200W
Cooler: Mega Shadow Deluxe Edition
OS: Windows7 Ultimate 64bit


Default Performance
CPU 100 X 35 => 3500MHz (Idle 1.044V, Full 1.008V)
DDR3 2133.8 CL9 10-9-27 1T 1.5V

Hyper PI 32M X8 => 14m 24.460s
CPUMARK 99=> 539


Fritz Chess Benchmark => 27.53/13212
AIDA64 Memory Bandwidth - 21901 MB/s


OC Performance
CPU 100 X 50 => 5000MHz (Idle 1.452V, Full 1.392V)
DDR3 2133.8 CL9 10-9-27 1T 1.5V

Hyper PI 1M => 07.551s
CPUMARK 99=> 770


Fritz Chess Benchmark => 39.25/18839
AIDA64 Memory Bandwidth - 25235 MB/s


This article is also posted in my blog: WIND'S 3C
Welcome 3C fans to drop by.

Thanks :)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2010, 06:27 PM
DorkSterr's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 25
Default

Nice!
__________________
i7 980X @ 4510.5MHz | Rampage III Extreme | Dominator GT 2037MHz 7-8-7-20 C7* | ASUS 6970 945MHz/1460MHz | 2X Vertex 3 120GB RAID 0* (OS) | Corsair AX1200 | Obsidian 800D
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2010, 07:19 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,085

My System Specs

Default

Note that there is no change in bus speed, all overclocking is by changing of multiplier only. Be prepared folks, if you want to overclock Sandy Bridge processors, you will need a K series chip with an unlocked multiplier.

EDIT: Disclaimer: This is information that I have gleaned from Bit-tech and Anandtech articles only, and I am not privy to any motherboards or information that might be under NDA from our review staff. This is my opinion only, and you all can freely say "I told you so" if I'm proven wrong.

Last edited by SugarJ; November 14, 2010 at 10:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 14, 2010, 07:28 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Nice one as usual again and again WWM!

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
Note that there is no change in bus speed, all overclocking is by changing of multiplier only. Be prepared folks, if you want to overclock Sandy Bridge processors, you will need a K series chip with an unlocked multiplier.

Damn you're right. This one will be expensive XD ahah
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2010, 01:08 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 28
Default

likes the 5ghz on air cooling at pretty decent volts too!

Last edited by tunksy; November 15, 2010 at 01:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2010, 07:20 AM
Bao Bao is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 233
Default

fapfapfap.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 15, 2010, 08:10 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

nice. whatwere the temps?

so basically if you want to ok, only the k series will be the ones to get....which means get the cheapest intel made board that can take your cpu without burning up and up the multis?


hope there's a workaround for the big brands like giga and asus...else why would you buy a super oc 300 dollar board when it won't oc a regular non k cpu?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2010, 11:30 AM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Why a 32M pi bench on the pre and a 1M bench on the post? Not stable enough for 32M?
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2010, 08:37 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 11
Default

Wow that is a good result indeed. Expecially on Air :)
ppl used to use phase cooling to go that high not long ago..
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High Performance ITX Platform Review-Intel Core i5-655K Air Cooling to 5GHz windwithme CPU's and Motherboards 13 December 11, 2010 09:04 AM
How to achieve better quality recording (MIC) GameOnTurtle Audio 1 April 26, 2010 06:07 AM
Intelís Latest 32nm Clarkdale Platform - Core i5 661 With BIOSTAR H55 OC 5G On Air windwithme Member Reviews 6 January 15, 2010 07:21 AM
[FS] Intel 2.66GHz (OC 3.5GHz) Core i7 920 DX58SO PC dargpat Buy/Sell & Trade 7 February 27, 2009 04:22 AM
What is better?Air Cooling blogz101 Air Cooling 13 July 9, 2008 03:13 PM