Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2010, 09:23 PM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 954

My System Specs

Default i7 920 overclocking

I currently have my i7 920 @ 4.2ghz (200 x 21).

Id like to get a 233 bclk , but I cant get my QPI down due to lack of multiplyer options.

Ive got a slow mode option, how big of a hit would that be for performance as Ive come to see that the QPI is everything with these chips. I tried to

Any clue on how to achieve a 233blck or am I just wishing?
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2010, 09:40 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 24

My System Specs

Default

whats your vcore? I know qpi is important but on my 930 I hit a bit of a wall at 4.2ghz would need a lot of volts on the vcore or qpi to go any farther for me at least.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2010, 09:47 PM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 954

My System Specs

Default

1.36v on vcore, 1.355 qpi.
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2010, 12:05 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 24

My System Specs

Default

Okay that is basically what I have and I needed a ton of voltage to get it to boot let alone run some prime95 or intel burn test at 4.4ghz the temps got to hot with my wc but, I think you just need more voltage.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2010, 07:00 AM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 954

My System Specs

Default

I was shooting for 233bclk because then I have the right number to run my ram full tilt. 186 and 233 are the numbers I need to get 1866 out of my ram.
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2010, 04:19 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

what ram you got
its not easy to get 333 blk lol
myself i finally got 230blkx21 with e760

get the most out of your cpu
and lower timings are better than high clocks on x58;)
on p55 you need high clocks and the right strap for performance

on my secondary rig i have timings of 6-6-6-20 @ 1670mhz its just as fast as 2k cas8
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2010, 07:27 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 52

My System Specs

Default

What zsamz said.

I say just run your ram at 1600 with tight timings and max your CPU OC, I doubt you'll notice any real-world difference as opposed to running it at 1866. Unless you're a benchmark junkie
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2010, 07:59 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,945

My System Specs

Default

I think most X58 boards start to crap out past 200 BCLK but I could be mistaken. 233 BCLK is probably asking a bit too much.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2010, 09:06 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 10
Default

To run over 220 bclk you'll need to turn up your PCIe frequency. You're looking in the range of 110-115 on the PCIe. That's the range that SATA drives start crapping out. So unless you're on an PATA, I'd say you're out of luck.
If this is a daily rig, I would definitely advise against this approach. Tighten up your timings and be done with it.
__________________
Obsessed with Benching...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2010, 05:41 PM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 954

My System Specs

Default

ive given up on achieving a higher than 210bclk for now. Ive got my whole loop up and going, but my i7 is requiring crazy volts to stay stable and running. I can get it run 4.0ghz stable, but with an insane voltage and temps are pretty high considering. And idea of what could be the problem? I was thinking my ram, but its supposed to be a low voltage 1.5v 1866mhz kit and ive got it running 1600mhz stock volts. Recently upped the memory voltage and it seems to help.

Heres my following volts -

vCore - 1.39
vtt - 1.375
memory - 1.58

Temps are in the high 70s @ 4ghz for the cpu, amazingly enough my gtx 480 @ 800mhz is 43 under load and hasnt gone a mhz over during folding.

Id like to get these temps down and get a higher clock if possible for folding.
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
920 D0 stepping overclocking Wi-Fuzzy CPU's and Motherboards 10 May 1, 2010 03:17 PM
Overclocking i7 920 D0 voltages G777 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 13 April 14, 2010 10:35 PM
overclocking 920 on rampage 2 gene = fail for me kyle_L Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 7 January 12, 2010 05:37 PM
New Proper Overclocking Results on i7 920 Rocco_360 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 7 July 2, 2009 10:31 PM
Overclocking the 920 on the P6T Langiroth Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 18 June 6, 2009 02:51 PM