Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2010, 09:47 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,913

My System Specs

Default Gigabyte H55 + X3440 overclocking woes



This is the most picky system I have ever tried to overclock. I can boot the system no problem @ 4GHz, yet I can't even get it to run LinX @ 3.2GHz for more than a few seconds w/o locking up. It will run 200bclk x 13 w/ 1.35Vcore, 1.35vtt stable as a rock. But taking it anything higher than 3.GHz will fail LinX. I've tried voltages as high as 1.5Vcore. I've tried increasing the Vtt, the PCH, the CPU pll, and the PCIe and nothing really helps. Temps aren't the issue as it is under water.

I have a hard time believing that it isn't anymore stable @ 3.2GHz than 4GHz.

System consists of:

Xeon X3440
4GB Corsair Dominator @ 9-9-9-24 1.66V, 1600MHz.
Gigabyte H55M-S2H
~420W Seasonic PSU
eVGA 8800GTS 640MB

Cooling consists of:
Swiftech XT
MCP655 w/ EK top
MCW60
Micro Res
EK 2x120mm radiator
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2010, 10:01 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

mr fat. that board is great for duallies, but for quads you are better off with the ud3p or so. why? well, the power circuitry is strong, but not quad strong, well at least in terms of overclocking :)

regardless, helluva board, sir!

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2010, 10:03 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,913

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
mr fat. that board is great for duallies, but for quads you are better off with the ud3p or so. why? well, the power circuitry is strong, but not quad strong, well at least in terms of overclocking :)

regardless, helluva board, sir!
The issue is that besides ITX boards I can't fit any other MATX boards besides this one. They are all too wide. So unless someone can recommend a better ITX board than this I am stuch w/ what I have.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2010, 10:21 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

that i was not aware of :)

perfect choice then. and 3.2 from stock 3.5 is not bad.

just in case, hook it up to a beefier psu, change gpu. because of the oc on the cpu, you need massive airflow over the power circuitry area.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2010, 01:14 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,913

My System Specs

Default

Pretty sure I do not need a beefier PSU. I doubt it is even pulling 200w from the wall. And I also have a medium speed 120mm blowing over the mainboard. I am going to try to see if i can find a slimmer radiator then try another motherboard to see if it solves my issues.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2010, 01:28 PM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 942

My System Specs

Default

Isnt that a hyperthreaded quad? If so im pretty sure its pulling a good load when you prime it no?
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2010, 01:34 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,913

My System Specs

Default

It does have hyperthreading. The whole system is pulling 500w from the wall. But the 16 HDD's have their own power supplies, which is about 200W. So still far below what the powr supply is capable of and I've had it on far stronger loads than this.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2010, 01:34 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

actually, lets do the math.


420W Seasonic : not sure which model you have, i'm guessing around 380 watts on the 12v rail?

Xeon X3440 : lets say 150-175 watts because of the oc

eVGA 8800GTS 640MB : at load in normal gaming mode perhaps 120 watts
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2010, 01:37 PM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 942

My System Specs

Default

That seasonic should be fine, but ya what you said is exactly what I was thinking.
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2010, 07:57 PM
CroSsFiRe2009's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,111

My System Specs

Default

Power Supply isn't a problem in this case, I've got a 450w running a 470 and an i7 860. Sounds like a dumb question but why are you using such a low multi or is that the highest it can go? Try lowering the vcore while increasing the VTT(I think it was this, been a while since I oc'd my own p55) Some boards seem to oc better with high VTT and a much lower vcore.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GIGABYTE H55/H57 IGP OC Challenge. Massman Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 1 March 8, 2010 09:58 PM
Gigabyte GA-P35DS3l Overclocking help th3b00m Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 7 November 12, 2009 03:07 PM
SLI + Vista 64-bit = overclocking woes lowfat Video Cards 11 June 26, 2008 12:01 PM
My Overclocking Woes... Cptn Vortex Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 20 February 8, 2008 07:40 PM