Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2010, 08:42 AM
MAC's Avatar
MAC MAC is online now
Associate Review Editor
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,009
Default

Trying disabling 2 cores and then see whether it will pass LinX any higher.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old October 26, 2010, 11:43 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,105

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MAC View Post
Trying disabling 2 cores and then see whether it will pass LinX any higher.
I may try this but it is folding @ the moment.

I've ordered a Maximus III Gene to see if it does better. I have to change the color scheme of my system now though.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2010, 05:40 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,105

My System Specs

Default

Well the Maximus III Gene sure does fair better than the H55M-S2H. This X3440 doesn't clock like my i7 920 unfortunately. But hopefully I should be able to get it folding@home stable @ 4GHz.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2010, 09:43 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 11
Default

Try a good quality Asus board. The CPU can overclock well. It's the mobo that is holding you back.
Personally.. I always had bad experience with Gigabyte mobos.. even top models.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2010, 10:09 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,105

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcusXP View Post
Try a good quality Asus board. The CPU can overclock well. It's the mobo that is holding you back.
Personally.. I always had bad experience with Gigabyte mobos.. even top models.
If you look at the post above you.... It sure looks like an Asus board to me.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2010, 11:11 AM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 956

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcusXP View Post
Try a good quality Asus board. The CPU can overclock well. It's the mobo that is holding you back.
Personally.. I always had bad experience with Gigabyte mobos.. even top models.
Ive found the complete opposite myself, while ive had no issues with most asus boards with OC, ive found gigabyte gives me the best results when it came OC.
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GIGABYTE H55/H57 IGP OC Challenge. Massman Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 1 March 8, 2010 10:58 PM
Gigabyte GA-P35DS3l Overclocking help th3b00m Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 7 November 12, 2009 04:07 PM
SLI + Vista 64-bit = overclocking woes lowfat Video Cards 11 June 26, 2008 01:01 PM
My Overclocking Woes... Cptn Vortex Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 20 February 8, 2008 08:40 PM