Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 10, 2010, 12:59 AM
Rookie

Default Help needed to OC i7 950

Hi guys and gals, this is my first post

I'm trying to get my head around overclocking my i7 950 but after a month of research on the web i'm even more confused than i was before. All the guides that i've found were confusing(to say the least) and overly complicated. Now i'm not a beginner with computers but i never overclocked before. Can somebody help me out to (safely)oc my rig please? I'm aiming at 4 ghz

CPU Core i7 950- CPU cooler Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus- MoBo Asus P6X58D-E- RAM 6 GB Corsair XMS 3(2 GB x 3) triple channel DDR3 9-9-9-24 @ 1600mhz- GPUs x2 MSI Cyclone GTX 460(1GB)- Storage 128 GB SSD SATA 3 @ 6GPS(Win 7 64), 1TB HDD 7200 RPM 64MB cache, SATA 3 6gps(data)- OD LG DVD- Power supply Silverstone strider plus 750W- Fractal Design R3 case

I'm looking forward for your advices, Many thanks in advance

Last edited by ddee; October 10, 2010 at 01:15 AM.
Old October 10, 2010, 06:06 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

Try this one:
Guide to Overclocking the Core I7 920 or 930 to 4.0ghz - Overclock.net - Overclocking.net
Old October 10, 2010, 08:31 AM
Hall Of Fame

My System Specs

or this one...

http://www.techreaction.net/2010/09/07/3-step-overclocking-guide-bloomfield-and-gulftown/

Old October 12, 2010, 12:12 PM
Rookie

My System Specs

I just got my i7 950 a few weeks ago, and I'm a novice at OC'ing too. I used the Intel Extreme Tuning Utility, no messing around in the BIOS. Just takes a restart to take effect. Only thing you need to do is change the bclock and voltage sliders and press apply.
I got mine to 3.8GHz at low 60's and 4.0GHz at low 70's in temp running prime95. I havent done anything that requires the extra power so I just leave it at stock