Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 15, 2007, 07:49 AM
Top Prospect

Default Newby (ish) oc need help

Hi guys , Im new to the forrum here so HEllo to all of you first off and hope to have happy threading with ya !

I have a feeling im gonna get some moans and groans from this but here it goes..

I have a dell xps 700
win vista home premium with SP1 beta
core 2 duo e6400
nvidia geforce 7900 gtx 512
agiea physx card
4 gb 667mhz ddr2 ( 4 x 1gb)
1000watt psu
xps advanced thermal cooling case

I have read that the e6400 cpu is a great cpu to oc , ive read from 2.13 to 3.5 increase..
Anyways i got my self Ntune and really didnt like the program.. it seemed to do the opposite of what i wanted it to do ,increasing fan speed when i say decrease ,adjust the GPU core when ive only selected the CPU etc.

I also read that dell locks settings and that i might have to flash a non dell bios inoder to pass the limits . With ntune the pc would restart its self after setting the cpu core to 2.4 and above which i think is because of dell considering the temp doesnt even budge passed 29c-30c... and is only a 300mhz increase per core...

Anyhow im not the most seasoned oc er so if anyone would kindly set me in a good direction id really appreciate it !!!

Thanks for your time !!!

Dan.
Old December 15, 2007, 08:24 AM
F@H

My System Specs

First off, welcome to HWC!!!! It's always great to see new faces.

Now, onto your dillema.......

My first advice would be to avoid (at all costs) flashing to a non-dell bios unless you can find a source you absolutely trust who has flashed your exact motherboard (dell model, not manufacturer's) and has had good results. Chances are you'd end up with a rather expensive paperweight rather than an overclockable motherboard.