Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 27, 2010, 06:49 PM
Top Prospect
F@H

My System Specs

Default Need help with with overclocking i7 860 properly.

Hey guys,

I'm very new to overclocking, and I'm just not quite sure what I'm suppose to tweak and what I'm not suppose to tweak, and what is the max vCORE that I should have and how the QPI is linked with higher overclocking results.... lol in other words, I got lots of questions =P

Well... as it stands, these are the overclocking results I have with my i7 860 (my system specs are up top). Also note that my CPU is under water.

The first OC is the stable overclock (1st row) that I've been on for a while now. Now I'm on the settings in the 3rd row.

I want to maintain a 4 GHz processor speed... but I can't do it... and no I didn't want to increase the vCORE to such high measures. My question is, what can I do to keep my clock speed at 4 GHz?

Here's what happens when I put the CPU through prime95:

Any suggestions would be great!
Old September 27, 2010, 07:31 PM
F@H

My System Specs

You know you can push your Vcore 1.4V and its still safe, its the max safe and the fact you have it under water you shouldnt be worried.
Old September 27, 2010, 08:25 PM
Top Prospect
F@H

My System Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
You know you can push your Vcore 1.4V and its still safe, its the max safe and the fact you have it under water you shouldnt be worried.
Oh... cool, I heard that it's not safe to go beyond 1.4 for the vcore, but now that you said that, do you know what the limit is?

Also how does QPI play a role in this?

Thanks!
Old September 28, 2010, 07:29 AM
Rookie

My System Specs

My first thought is that your temps seem a little high for underwater. Are you running one of those self contained units or a full loop?